
Vacancies: 16 (tentative) · Gender: Male 14 / Female 2 · Posts: 1 · Type: Regular Government Service · Mode: Online · Fee: ₹100 (nil for women, SC, ST, ESM) · Apply: 28 September 2026–27 October 2026 · Salary: Level-4 ₹25,500–81,100 · Selection: PET, PST, Written, DV, DME · Location: All India / abroad
Psychology and B.Ed graduates rarely get a combatised CAPF seat that still uses their degree. The Indo-Tibetan Border Police Force (ITBP), a Central Armed Police Force under the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, has opened recruitment for 16 Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor) Group ‘C’ seats for 2026.
Both male and female Indian citizens, and subjects of Nepal or Bhutan, can apply. The split is 14 male and 2 female posts. Online applications open on the ITBP recruitment portal at 12:01 AM on 28 September 2026 and close at 11:59 PM on 27 October 2026.
Pay is Level-4 of the 7th CPC (₹25,500–81,100). Appointment starts as temporary and is likely to become permanent. Posting can be anywhere in India or abroad, including high-altitude border units, not a city classroom.
⚠️ Application Alerts
- The application form is not live today. It opens only at 12:01 AM on 28 September 2026 on recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in, not on the ITBP homepage.
- PET and PST come before the written paper. Failing the race, jump or height/chest cut ends the process even if the degree is perfect.
- Vacancies are tentative, and 10% are reserved horizontally for Ex-Servicemen within the same category. Do not treat the published UR/OBC/ST/EWS split as frozen.
📋 Official Source Chain
- Official notice: Advertisement dated 22 September 2026 — a stable direct PDF path was not published as a standalone file URL. Download the matching advertisement from the ITBP recruitment listing before you fill the form.
- Official application route: Online via recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in (opens 28 September 2026, 12:01 AM)
- Official updates page: recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in
- Last checked: 23 September 2026, 12:23 PM IST
On this page
Also Read: ITBP Head Constable Motor Mechanic Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 21 Posts
Who Should Apply? (Quick Eligibility Check)
- BA / B.Sc / B.Com (or equivalent) with Psychology as a subject from a recognised university → Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor) – 16 posts
- Any recognised university degree + B.Ed / Bachelor of Teaching / equivalent → same post – 16 posts
- Female graduates on either route above → 2 earmarked female seats (UR 1, OBC 1)
- Male graduates on either route above → 14 male seats (UR 3, ST 2, OBC 8, EWS 1)
- Ex-Servicemen → 10% reservation within the relevant post and category, plus fee exemption
Who cannot apply (hard filters)
- Below 20 years or above 25 years as on 27 October 2026, after counting only the relaxation your category actually gets
- No recognised degree on either route above
- Not an Indian citizen and not a subject of Nepal or Bhutan
- Cannot meet ITBP PET/PST and medical standards for a combatised Head Constable
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification Release Date | 22 September 2026 |
| Online Application Starts | 28 September 2026, 12:01 AM |
| Last Date to Apply / Register | 27 October 2026, 11:59 PM |
| Last Date for Fee Payment | 27 October 2026 |
| Age Cut-off Date | 27 October 2026 |
| Correction Window | Not mentioned — verify every field before final submission |
| Admit Card / Call Letter | To be notified on the recruitment portal |
| PET / PST / Written Exam | To be notified |
| Result / Merit List | To be notified |
Quick Overview – ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor 2026
- Organisation: Indo-Tibetan Border Police Force (ITBP)
- Sector: Defence & Police
- Recruitment / Exam Name: Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor) Recruitment 2026
- Notification / Advertisement No.: Not mentioned in the published notice
- Post / Trade / Exam Name(s): Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor)
- Total Vacancies: 16 (tentative; may rise or fall)
- Job Location / Exam Centre: Anywhere in India or abroad
- Job Type / Nature: Regular Government Service – General Central Service, Group ‘C’, Non-Gazetted, Non-Ministerial (combatised); initially temporary, likely permanent
- Approx. Salary: Level-4, ₹25,500–81,100 (7th CPC)
- Apply / Register Between: 28 September 2026 to 27 October 2026
- Apply Online: Apply for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor 2026 (opens 28 September 2026)
- Notification PDF: Download the ITBP HC Education & Stress Counsellor 2026 notice from the recruitment page
- Official Website: ITBP recruitment portal
- Last Date: 27 October 2026, 11:59 PM
What Posts Are Available? – ITBP Vacancy & Eligibility 2026
ITBP is filling one designation only: Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor). The rare piece is the female cut (2 seats) and the heavy OBC male share (8 of 14 male seats). There is no SC vacancy in this cycle. EWS has 1 male seat. Treat the table as tentative until the force issues a corrigendum.
| Category | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| UR | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| SC | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ST | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| OBC | 8 | 1 | 9 |
| EWS | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 14 | 2 | 16 |
10% of vacancies are reserved for Ex-Servicemen in the respective post and category.
| Post Name | Vacancies | Qualification | Pay Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor) | 16 | BA / B.Sc / B.Com or equivalent with Psychology or any recognised degree + B.Ed / Bachelor of Teaching/equivalent | Level-4 ₹25,500–81,100 |
✅ Confirmed in the current notice: 16 posts, male/female split, two degree routes, Level-4, online window, PET → PST → written → DV → DME/RME. ❓ Not specified in the current notice: written-paper breakup, negative marking, exact PET timing for this cycle, joining timeline, advertisement number.
Eligibility – Education, Age & Domicile
Education (either route)
- Degree from a recognised university or equivalent with Psychology as a subject, or
- Degree from a recognised university with B.Ed or Bachelor of Teaching or equivalent
No percentage cut-off is printed in the current notice. Final-year / result-awaited status is also not printed. Safer reading: hold the degree and the relevant paper/B.Ed before you rely on the form.
Citizenship: Indian citizens. Subjects of Nepal and Bhutan are also eligible as stated in the notice.
Domicile: No state domicile. This is an all-India CAPF recruitment.
NOC: Serving government employees should keep an NOC ready for document verification or joining. The notice does not say NOC must be uploaded on day one.
What Is the Age Limit?
Age is reckoned as on 27 October 2026. Band printed in the notice: 20 to 25 years.
ITBP Education & Stress Counsellor Cadre Recruitment Rules and Central Government orders give upper-age relaxation of 3 years for OBC and 5 years for ST (and for departmental candidates). Ex-Servicemen follow the Government of India ESM formula printed in the detailed advertisement. EWS uses the UR cap. SC has zero seats this cycle.
| Category | Min Age | Max Age (as on 27 October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| UR / EWS | 20 | 25 |
| OBC | 20 | 28 |
| ST | 20 | 30 |
| Ex-Servicemen | 20 | As per GoI ESM rules in the detailed advertisement |
| Departmental candidates | 20 | 30 (5-year relaxation under the cadre rules) |
Examples: ✅ A 24-year-old UR candidate born on 28 October 2001 — eligible (within the 25-year limit as on 27 October 2026). ❌ A 26-year-old UR candidate born on 27 October 2000 — not eligible (exceeds maximum age by 1 year).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly.
What Is the Head Constable Salary in CAPF? – ITBP Head Constable 2026
The post sits on Level-4 of the 7th CPC: basic ₹25,500, rising to ₹81,100.
Illustrative in-hand for a new Head Constable, using current central DA near 55% of basic and HRA by city class:
| Component | X-class city (30% HRA) | Z-class / field station (10% HRA) |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | ₹25,500 | ₹25,500 |
| DA (~55% of basic) | ₹14,025 | ₹14,025 |
| HRA | ₹7,650 | ₹2,550 |
| Gross (before TA and CAPF field allowances) | ~₹47,175 | ~₹42,075 |
| Minus NPS 10% of (Basic + DA) and routine deductions | ~₹4,000–4,500 | ~₹4,000–4,500 |
| Indicative in-hand | ~₹40,000–₹45,000 | ~₹36,000–₹41,000 |
Claim + proof: ~₹38,000–₹42,000/month is the standard Level-4 central estimate on this site; the table above adds HRA variation. Transport Allowance, ration money, risk/hardship and high-altitude allowances for ITBP field units are not quantified in this notice. They can lift take-home in a border posting. They are not a guaranteed extra on paper until the appointment order lists them.
Use the Defence Pay Calculator for an indicative CAPF estimate. This calculator provides an indicative estimate. Use the pay matrix and allowances in the appointment order — the official formula prevails.
What Is the Application Fee?
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| UR / OBC / EWS (male) | ₹100 |
| All female candidates | Nil |
| SC / ST | Nil |
| Ex-Servicemen | Nil |
Pay online on the recruitment portal by debit card, credit card, net banking or UPI when the form opens. Last date for fee and form is the same: 27 October 2026. The notice does not mention a refund if you later fail the PET or skip the written paper.
How to Apply?
Applications are online only. No offline form is accepted.
- From 28 September 2026, 12:01 AM, apply for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor 2026 (open until 27 October 2026, 11:59 PM).
- Register with a working mobile number and email. Admit cards will go online to that ID.
- Fill in the personal, category, education and address fields. Pick the Education & Stress Counsellor post, not any other ITBP trade running in the same window.
- Upload photo, signature and certificates in the size the portal asks. Use our Photo & Signature Resizer before you upload.
- Pay ₹100 if it applies to you.
- Submit and save the application printout. There is no published correction window.
Suggested (not stated in the notice): finish the form at least two days before 27 October. CAPF portals slow down on the last evening.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Opening itbpolice.nic.in and assuming that is the application link. The live form is on recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in from 28 September.
- Treating a Psychology-free BA plus a random diploma as a B.Ed. Route 2 needs a B.Ed / Bachelor of Teaching / an equivalent teaching degree.
- Skipping PET practice because the role sounds like a counsellor desk job. It is still a combative Head Constable post.
- Applying in SC when this table has zero SC seats, unless you are competing as UR without SC relaxation.
- Waiting for an “interview date”. No interview stage is mentioned in the current notification. Selection is PET + PST + written exam + document verification + medical.
आईटीबीपी हेड कांस्टेबल (शिक्षा एवं तनाव परामर्शदाता) भर्ती 2026 – 16 पदों के लिए ऑनलाइन आवेदन
भारत-तिब्बत सीमा पुलिस बल ने हेड कांस्टेबल (शिक्षा एवं तनाव परामर्शदाता) के 16 पदों की भर्ती निकाली है। यह केंद्रीय सशस्त्र पुलिस बल की नियमित ग्रुप ‘सी’ नौकरी है। वेतन लेवल-4 (₹25,500–81,100) है। ऑनलाइन आवेदन 28 सितंबर 2026 सुबह 12:01 बजे से 27 अक्टूबर 2026 रात 11:59 बजे तक recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in पर खुलेंगे।
कौन आवेदन कर सकता है? मान्यता प्राप्त विश्वविद्यालय की डिग्री में साइकोलॉजी विषय हो, या किसी भी मान्यता प्राप्त डिग्री के साथ बी.एड / बैचलर ऑफ टीचिंग हो। आयु 27 अक्टूबर 2026 को 20 से 25 वर्ष के बीच होनी चाहिए। पुरुषों के 14 और महिलाओं के 2 पद हैं। नेपाल और भूटान के लोग भी आवेदन कर सकते हैं। राज्य का डोमिसाइल नहीं मांगा गया है।
वेतन और चयन क्या हैं? सातवें वेतन आयोग के लेवल-4 पर शुरुआती इन-हैंड वेतन शहर और तैनाती के हिसाब से लगभग ₹38,000 से ₹42,000 प्रति माह बनता है। सीमा पोस्टिंग पर राशन और कठिनाई भत्ता अलग से मिल सकते हैं। चयन पीईटी, पीएसटी, लिखित परीक्षा, दस्तावेज जांच और मेडिकल से होगा। इस नोटिस में इंटरव्यू नहीं लिखा गया है।
आवेदन कैसे करें? केवल ऑनलाइन फॉर्म भरें। सामान्य पुरुष उम्मीदवार की फीस ₹100 है। महिला, एससी, एसटी और भूतपूर्व सैनिक मुक्त हैं। फॉर्म आईटीबीपी होमपेज पर नहीं, भर्ती पोर्टल पर खुलेगा। पीईटी में दौड़ और जंप क्वालीफाई करने के बाद ही लिखित परीक्षा काम आएगी। आधिकारिक अपडेट recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in पर देखें।
How Are Candidates Selected?
Selection is a chain of stages, not a single exam. The current notice lists:
- Physical Efficiency Test (PET)
- Physical Standard Test (PST)
- Written Examination
- Verification of original documents
- Detailed Medical Examination (DME)
- Review Medical Examination (RME), where required
No interview stage is mentioned in the current notification. Selection after the written paper is subject to DV, medical fitness and the reservation roster.
PET is qualifying. A high written score does not cancel a failed race.
Physical Standards (from ITBP ESC cadre rules / previous ESC advertisements — confirm on the call letter)
Use the Physical Standards Calculator against your category before you pay the fee.
Height and chest (PST)
| Category | Male height | Female height | Male chest (unexpanded / expanded) |
|---|---|---|---|
| All States/UTs except rows below | 170 cm | 157 cm | 80 / 85 cm |
| Garhwali, Kumaoni, Gorkha, Dogra, Maratha; Sikkim, HP, J&K and North-East states | 165 cm | 155 cm | 80 / 85 cm |
| Scheduled Tribe (including Mizo and Naga) | 162.5 cm | 154 cm | 77 / 82 cm |
Chest PST does not apply to female candidates.
PET events used in earlier ITBP ESC drives (verify timings on this cycle’s admit card)
| Event | Male | Female |
|---|---|---|
| Race | 1.6 km in 7 minutes 30 seconds | 800 m in 4 minutes 45 seconds |
| Long jump | 11 feet (3 chances) | 9 feet (3 chances) |
| High jump | 3.5 feet (3 chances) | 3 feet (3 chances) |
Exact medical standards (vision, colour vision, knock knee, flat foot) will be those printed for ITBP-combatised Head Constable posts in the detailed advertisement / DME instructions.
Exam Pattern & Syllabus
The current advertisement does not print the written-paper table, marks or negative marking. Do not treat coaching-site grids as official for 2026.
What is confirmed: there is a written examination after PET/PST. Older Education & Stress Counsellor papers mixed General English, Hindi, GK, Quant and Reasoning. Some later write-ups add a Psychology section. Wait for the detailed advertisement or admit card before you lock a book list.
Why Does ITBP Matter?
ITBP is the Ministry of Home Affairs border force on the India–China line, from the Karakoram in Ladakh to Jachep La in Arunachal Pradesh. The Education & Stress Counsellor cadre sits inside that force, not in a civilian college. Daily work mixes troop education, counselling and unit welfare with the same discipline, drill and field moves as other combatised Head Constables.
Also Read: OAVS Odisha Principal & Teacher Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 815 Posts
Candidates search this role because a Psychology or B.Ed degree rarely converts into a CAPF Level-4 card. They also search “ITBP counsellor posting” and “ITBP HC in-hand salary” after seeing the Level-4 matrix. The honest downside: the job title sounds clinical; the workplace is a battalion. High-altitude tenure, limited family station time and all-India transfer are part of the bargain, not extras you can decline after joining. Read the ITBP organisation page and the Defence & Police sector hub for other CAPF trades running this year.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
This is the smaller, degree-specific cousin of the large CAPF Head Constable trades. A B.Ed holder comparing tabs is usually looking at KVS/NVS TGT forms or a State police education instructor notice, not at CRPF GD. Against those school-board drives, ITBP offers combatised Group ‘C’ status, CAPF allowances and an all-India badge. Against other ITBP Head Constable trades opening in the same window (Motor Mechanic is a separate 21-post male notice), this seat is the only one that actually uses a university degree.
Best fit: graduates who already hold Psychology or B. Ed, can clear a 1.6 km / 800 m PET, and want a uniformed career rather than a private-school timetable. Female applicants have a real, if thin, quota (2 seats) instead of an afterthought line.
Skip this if you need a metro-only desk, you cannot serve at altitude, or you are counting on an interview to offset a weak race. Also skip if your degree has neither a Psychology paper nor a B.Ed / teaching equivalent.
Practical tip: Start PET this week and keep scanned degree + category PDFs ready. The portal opens 28 September. The written syllabus is still unpublished, so fitness is the only stage you can train for with certainty.
What Documents Are Required?
Keep originals and scans. Exact pixel size will be shown on the portal.
- Matriculation/birth certificate for date of birth
- Degree marksheet and certificate; Psychology paper proof or B.Ed / Bachelor of Teaching certificate
- Category certificate (OBC-NCL, ST, EWS) in the Central format, issued as required by the detailed advertisement
- ESM discharge book and undertaking, if applicable
- Photo identity (Aadhaar, passport, driving licence or voter ID)
- Recent photograph and signature
- NOC for serving government staff, to be produced when asked
- Domicile is not a filter; still carry address proof for the form
Document alert: OBC creamy-layer and EWS income year must match what the detailed advertisement names. A state-format caste certificate is a common DV rejection in CAPF drives.
Service Conditions
- Combatised Group ‘C’ Head Constable in ITBP
- First appointment is temporary, likely to become permanent after satisfactory service
- Two-year probation is written in the 2018 ESC Group ‘C’ cadre rules for direct recruits; confirm the period on the offer letter
- Pension scheme is not named in this notice. Central CAPF recruits appointed after 2004 fall under NPS in prevailing GoI orders. Confirm from the appointment order.
- Liable to serve anywhere in India or abroad
- Conduct, uniform and leave follow ITBP Force rules, not civilian university statutes
What Happens After Selection?
- ITBP publishes the written/PET qualified list and calls you for document verification with originals.
- DME is held at an ITBP hospital or designated CAPF medical board. Unfit candidates may seek RME as per the notice.
- A final merit list is drawn from written marks after DV and medical, subject to the roster (including ESM 10%).
- The offer of appointment and force joining instructions follow. Carry the documents listed in that letter; do not assume the online form printout is enough.
- Recruit training / professional course for the Education & Stress Counsellor cadre is completed at the allotted ITBP training centre before independent unit duty.
- First posting can be a battalion on the Line of Actual Control or a rear establishment. You do not choose the station.
- Confirmation after probation depends on training, discipline and vacancy rules in force at that time.
Contact & Helpline
Recruitment-specific phone and email are not printed in the short advertisement used for this article.
- Apply and updates: https://recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in/
- Parent site: https://itbpolice.nic.in/
- Help text on the portal (when the form opens) is the first place to look for a recruitment cell number.
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification/website. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over the phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – ITBP Head Constable 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Recruitment portal/notice listing | Open the ITBP recruitment portal for HC Education & Stress Counsellor 2026 |
| Apply Online | Apply for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor 2026 (28 September 2026 to 27 October 2026) |
| Official website | Visit the ITBP official website |
| Parent ministry | Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India |
FAQs – ITBP Head Constable 2026
What is the last date to apply for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor 2026?
27 October 2026, 11:59 PM. The form also opens only on 28 September 2026 at 12:01 AM. Late applications are not accepted. No extension is announced as of 23 September 2026.
What is the age limit for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor?
20 to 25 years as on 27 October 2026. OBC gets 3 extra years, and ST gets 5 under cadre/GoI rules. EWS follows the UR cap. ESM follow the formula in the detailed advertisement.
Is there an exam for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor, or is it interview-based?
Yes, there is a written exam after PET and PST. Document verification and medical come later. No interview stage is mentioned in the current notification.
What is the salary of an ITBP Education & Stress Counsellor?
Level-4 basic is ₹25,500 (scale ₹25,500–81,100). Indicative in-hand is about ₹38,000–₹42,000 a month before special CAPF field allowances. Actual take-home depends on DA, HRA city class and posting.
Can final-year students or result-awaited candidates apply for ITBP 2026?
The current notice does not say they can. Safer reading: hold the Psychology degree or the degree-plus-B.Ed before you submit. Produce originals at document verification.
Is ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor a permanent government job?
Yes, it is a regular Group ‘C’ CAPF post. The first appointment is temporary and is likely to become permanent. It is not a civilian teaching contract.
Can candidates from other states apply for ITBP recruitment?
Yes. This is all-India. No state domicile is required. Indian citizens and subjects of Nepal or Bhutan can apply as stated in the notice.
Where will I be posted if I get selected for ITBP Head Constable Education & Stress Counsellor?
Anywhere in India or abroad. First posting is decided by the force. Border and high-altitude units are normal for ITBP, not rare exceptions.
Is there a physical test for CAPF education counsellor posts?
Yes. PET and PST are mandatory stages for this combatised Head Constable post. A counselling degree does not waive the race, jumps, height or chest cuts.
How many attempts are allowed in ITBP Head Constable recruitment?
No attempt cap is printed. You may apply in every cycle while you stay within the age band after relaxation.
What are the disadvantages of working as an ITBP counsellor?
The trade-off is the workplace. You join a border force, not a college. Family stations are limited, transfers are force-driven, and PET/medical standards stay with you after appointment.
Do CAPF Head Constables get pension?
The 2026 notice does not name OPS or NPS. NPS covers central CAPF recruits appointed after 2004 under prevailing Government of India rules. Read the appointment order before you assume a pension plan.
What is the in-hand salary of a Level-4 Head Constable in central forces?
Around ₹38,000–₹42,000 a month at current DA, before ration and hardship allowances. Metro HRA is higher; a high-altitude posting can add field allowances that this notice does not quantify.
Final Checklist – Is This the Right Job for You?
- You meet the age and educational criteria as on 27 October 2026 (Psychology paper or B.Ed / Bachelor of Teaching).
- You accept a combated Regular Government Service post with all-India / abroad posting.
- You can arrange degree, category and identity documents before document verification.
- You are prepared for the hardest early stage: PET / PST, then medical.
- You understand posting is anywhere ITBP sends you, including high-altitude units.
📄 Source: Official notification released by ITBP on 22 September 2026. Details above follow the ITBP Head Constable (Education & Stress Counsellor) advertisement as hosted on the ITBP recruitment portal. Download the matching notice from recruitment.itbpolice.nic.in before you apply.