
Seats: 50 · Trades: 12 · Type: Apprenticeship Training (NATS) · Mode: Offline (Speed Post / Registered Post) · Fee: Not mentioned · Apply: 23 September 2026–12 October 2026 · Stipend: ₹12,300 / ₹10,900 · Selection: Marks shortlist + written test/interview · Location: Chandipur, Balasore, Odisha
Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE), Chandipur, a Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) lab under the Ministry of Defence, is taking 50 one-year apprentices for 2026-27. Training is at the Balasore range that tests and evaluates armament systems, not a classroom posting.
Applications must physically reach PXE by 12 October 2026. The form is typed, posted by Speed Post or Registered Post, and valid only if the candidate already holds a NATS enrolment number on nats.education.gov.in.
This is training under the Apprentices Act, 1961 (as amended in 1961, 1973, 2014 and 2025). The notice states that the offer does not confer any right to employment in PXE or DRDO.
⚠️ Application Alerts
- The 12 October 2026 date is the date the form must reach Chandipur, not the date you post it. A late bag after a transit delay is treated as late.
- NATS registration is mandatory before you post the form. Applications with no enrolment number, or an invalid one, will be rejected.
- Fill the prescribed form by typing only. Handwritten forms are rejected.
- Only Speed Post or Registered Post is accepted. The advertisement does not provide an email or online submission route for this cycle.
📋 Official Source Chain
- Official notice: Advertisement No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27, published 23 September 2026 — Download the PXE Apprentice 2026-27 PDF
- Official application route: Register on NATS, download the form from drdo.gov.in, and post the typed form to the Director, PXE, Chandipur, so that it arrives by 12 October 2026
- Official updates page: drdo.gov.in/drdo/offerings/vacancies
- Last checked: 24 September 2026, 12:41 PM IST
On this page
Also Read: DRDO DIPR Delhi ITI Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 24 Seats
Who Should Apply?
- B.Tech in Electronics & Communication (regular mode, passed 2022–2026, NATS registered, no PG, under one year of post-qualification job/training) → Graduate Apprentice (ECE) – 4 seats
- B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering (same conditions) → Graduate Apprentice (Mechanical) – 4 seats
- B.Tech in Computer Science & Engineering (same conditions) → Graduate Apprentice (Computer Science) – 5 seats
- B.Tech in Chemical Engineering (same conditions) → Graduate Apprentice (Chemical) – 2 seats
- Diploma in Civil / Computer Science / ECE / Mechanical / Chemical / Electrical / Cinematography / Automobile (regular mode, passed 2022–2026, NATS registered, no PG, under one year of post-qualification job/training) → Technician Apprentice – 35 seats
- SC / ST / OBC / PwBD / EWS candidates → reservation is applied as per the Apprenticeship Act, 1961 and Apprenticeship Rules, 1992, as amended. Produce the caste/category certificate at document verification.
| Factor | Graduate Apprentice (B.Tech) | Technician Apprentice (Diploma) |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 15 | 35 |
| Minimum qualification | B.Tech in the listed branch | Diploma in the listed branch |
| Pass years | 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 or 2026 | Same |
| Monthly stipend | ₹12,300 | ₹10,900 |
| Duration | One year | One year |
Who cannot apply
- Post-graduation degree holders (the notice says they will not be considered)
- Distance / non-regular mode qualification
- Passed the essential course before 2022
- One year or more of training or job after the essential qualification
- Not registered on NATS, or holding an invalid enrolment number
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification Release Date | 23 September 2026 |
| Offline Start | 23 September 2026 |
| Last Date for Receipt at PXE | 12 October 2026 |
| Last Date for Fee Payment | Not mentioned |
| Correction Window | Not mentioned — check the DRDO vacancies page after posting |
| Admit Card / Call Letter | To be notified (email only) |
| Written Test / Interview | To be notified; held at PXE, Chandipur |
| Result / Offer Letter | To be notified (email only) |
Quick Overview – DRDO PXE Apprentice 2026
- Organisation: Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)
- Sector: Engineering & Technical
- Recruitment / Exam Name: Engagement of Graduate and Technician Apprentices 2026-27
- Notification / Advertisement No.: PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27
- Post / Trade / Exam Name(s): Graduate Apprentice (B.Tech), Technician Apprentice (Diploma)
- Total seats: 50
- Job Location / Exam Centre: PXE, Chandipur, District Balasore, Odisha – 756025 (written test/interview at the same campus)
- Job Type / Nature: Apprenticeship Training – one-year contract under the Apprentices Act, 1961
- Monthly Stipend: ₹12,300 (Graduate) / ₹10,900 (Technician)
- Apply / Register Between: 23 September 2026 to 12 October 2026 (receipt deadline)
- NATS Portal: Register on the NATS 2.0 portal for PXE Chandipur apprentice 2026
- Notification PDF: Download DRDO PXE Apprentice Recruitment 2026 PDF
- Official Portal: DRDO vacancies page
What Posts Are Available?
Civil Diploma has the largest block (10 seats). Graduate Computer Science has the largest B.Tech block (5 seats). Cinematography and Chemical Diploma are the thinnest lines (2 and 1). PXE may increase or decrease these numbers.
Your B.Tech or Diploma percentage decides who is called for the written test/interview. There is no all-India CBT portal. A weak percentage can stop you before the Chandipur test, even if you meet every other condition. Convert CGPA with the university formula before you fill the form. Use the CGPA to Percentage Calculator as an indicative check; the official conversion method prevails.
Graduate Apprentice (B.Tech) — 15 seats
| Post Name | Seats | Qualification | Stipend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate Apprentice – Electronics & Communication | 4 | B.Tech in Electronics & Communication Engg. | ₹12,300/month |
| Graduate Apprentice – Mechanical | 4 | B.Tech in Mechanical Engg. | ₹12,300/month |
| Graduate Apprentice – Computer Science | 5 | B.Tech in Comp. Science & Engg. | ₹12,300/month |
| Graduate Apprentice – Chemical | 2 | B.Tech in Chemical Engg. | ₹12,300/month |
Technician Apprentice (Diploma) — 35 seats
| Post Name | Seats | Qualification | Stipend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Technician Apprentice – Civil | 10 | Diploma in Civil Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Computer Science | 5 | Diploma in Computer Science | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Electronics & Communication | 5 | Diploma in Electronics & Communication Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Mechanical | 8 | Diploma in Mechanical Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Chemical | 1 | Diploma in Chemical Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Electrical | 2 | Diploma in Electrical Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Cinematography | 2 | Diploma in Cinematography Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
| Technician Apprentice – Automobile | 2 | Diploma in Automobile Engg. | ₹10,900/month |
Footer: Duration is one year for every row. Reservation for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD/EWS follows the Apprenticeship Act and Rules; no category-wise seat table is printed in this advertisement.
Eligibility – Education, Age & Domicile
✅ Confirmed: regular-mode B.Tech or Diploma in the exact listed branch; pass year 2022–2026; NATS enrolment; no post-graduation; less than one year of training or job after the essential qualification.
❓ Not specified: numerical minimum/maximum age, domicile/nativity bar, minimum percentage cut-off for shortlisting, written-test syllabus.
No separate Odisha domicile condition is written in the Advt. No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27. Indian nationals who meet the branch, pass-year and NATS conditions can apply. Check the one-year experience bar with the Experience Calculator before you post the form.
What Is the Age Limit?
No minimum or maximum age is printed in this advertisement. The live filter is the pass-year window (2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026), not a birth-year table.
Examples: ✅ A B.Tech/Diploma holder who passed in 2022 — eligible under the pass-year rule in Advt. No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27. ❌ A B.Tech/Diploma holder who passed in 2021 — not eligible (outside the 2022–2026 window).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly if a later call letter cites an age clause under the Apprentices Act. This notice itself does not print that number.
What Is the Apprentice Stipend in Chandipur?
Apprentice Stipend Details
| Component | Amount / Details |
|---|---|
| Graduate Apprentice (B.Tech) | ₹12,300 per month |
| Technician Apprentice (Diploma) | ₹10,900 per month |
| Duration | One year |
| Accommodation/transport | Not provided by PXE |
| TA/DA for interview or joining | Not provided |
| Other allowances | Not mentioned in the notification |
Annual stipend at the Graduate rate is ₹1,47,600 before any tax. Annual stipend at the Technician rate is ₹1,30,800 before any tax. This is a fixed training stipend. There is no DA, HRA, NPS or 7th CPC structure attached to these figures in the notice.
Important Clarification:
- This is not a regular salary. Stipend is payable subject to attendance, applicable rules and successful continuation of training.
- No permanent employment is guaranteed after the year ends.
- Hostel and transport are not provided.
Estimate possible TDS against your total income with the Income Tax Calculator. This calculator provides an indicative estimate. Actual tax depends on income from all sources, not this stipend alone.
What Is the Application Fee?
The application fee is not mentioned in Advertisement No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27. The notice also does not name a payment portal. Do not pay anyone who calls or messages claiming a PXE/DRDO processing fee.
How to Apply?
NATS registration alone is not the PXE application. You must also post the typed PXE form so that it reaches Chandipur by 12 October 2026.
| Category | First registration | Final application |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate Apprentice (B.Tech) | NATS 2.0 (nats.education.gov.in) | Typed PXE form by Speed Post / Registered Post |
| Technician Apprentice (Diploma) | NATS 2.0 (nats.education.gov.in) | Typed PXE form by Speed Post / Registered Post |
Register on the NATS 2.0 portal and note your enrolment number. Applications without a valid number are rejected.
Download the application form from the DRDO vacancies listing (the same PDF carries the form). Path if the file is not obvious: Visit drdo.gov.in → Offerings / Vacancies → “PXE, Balasore… Apprentices” → Advertisement and Application Form.
Type every field. Affix a recent passport-size photograph and sign the declaration.
Enter Name, Apprentice Category (Degree or Diploma), Discipline/Branch, NATS Enrolment No., Aadhaar, Father’s Name, Nationality, Date of Birth, Gender, Reservation Category, contacts, addresses, and 10th / 12th / Diploma / B.Tech marks as applicable.
Attach mark sheets of the essential qualification and the reservation certificate if you claim a reserved category.
Post only by Speed Post or Registered Post to:
The Director,
Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE),
Defence R&D Organisation,
PO- Chandipur, Dist. Balasore,
Odisha – 756025
(Kind Attn. OIC, HRDC)On the envelope, write exactly: “Application for Engagement of Apprentices, Apprentice Category (Degree/Diploma) and Discipline/Branch…….”
Plan postage so the packet arrives on or before 12 October 2026.
Suggested (not stated in the notification): keep a photocopy of the filled form, the Speed Post receipt, and a screenshot of your NATS dashboard until the training year ends.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Posting a handwritten form. The notice rejects it.
- Treating NATS registration as the finished application. PXE still needs the postal form.
- Writing a 2021 (or earlier) pass year, or hiding a year-plus job after the degree/diploma.
- Sending the packet by ordinary post, courier not named in the notice, or email. This cycle names Speed Post / Registered Post only.
- Skipping the envelope superscription (category + branch). Sorting at HRDC depends on that line.
- Using a dead or mistyped email ID. Offer letters go only by email; PXE is not responsible if mail lands in spam.
ଡିଆରଡିଓ ପିଏକ୍ସଇ ଚାନ୍ଦିପୁର ଆପ୍ରେଣ୍ଟିସ ନିଯୁକ୍ତି ୨୦୨୬ – ୫୦ ଗ୍ରାଜୁଏଟ ଓ ଟେକ୍ନିସିଆନ ସିଟ ପାଇଁ ଅଫଲାଇନ ଆବେଦନ
ପ୍ରମାଣ ତଥା ପ୍ରାୟୋଗିକ ସ୍ଥାପନା (PXE), ଚାନ୍ଦିପୁର, ବାଲେଶ୍ୱର ର ଡିଆରଡିଓ ଲ୍ୟାବ୍ ଏକ ବର୍ଷିଆ ୫୦ଟି ଆପ୍ରେଣ୍ଟିସ ତାଲିମ ସିଟ ଘୋଷଣା କରିଛି। ବିଜ୍ଞାପନ ସଂଖ୍ୟା PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27। ଆବେଦନ ପତ୍ର ୧୨ ଅକ୍ଟୋବର ୨୦୨୬ ସୁଦ୍ଧା ଚାନ୍ଦିପୁର ରେ ପହଞ୍ଚିବା ଦରକାର। ଏହା ସ୍ଥାୟୀ ଚାକିରି ନୁହେଁ; ଆପ୍ରେଣ୍ଟିସ ଆକ୍ଟ, ୧୯୬୧ ଅଧୀନରେ ତାଲିମ।
କିଏ ଆବେଦନ କରିପାରିବେ? ୨୦୨୨ ରୁ ୨୦୨୬ ମଧ୍ୟରେ ରେଗୁଲର୍ ମୋଡ୍ରେ B.Tech କିମ୍ବା ଡିପ୍ଲୋମା ପାସ୍ କରିଥିବା ପ୍ରାର୍ଥୀ ଆବେଦନ କରିପାରିବେ। NATS ପୋର୍ଟାଲ୍ରେ ପଞ୍ଜୀକରଣ ବାଧ୍ୟତାମୂଳକ। ସ୍ନାତକୋତ୍ତର ଡିଗ୍ରୀଧାରୀ ଏବଂ ଯୋଗ୍ୟତା ପରେ ଏକ ବର୍ଷ କିମ୍ବା ଅଧିକ ଚାକିରି/ତାଲିମ ଥିବା ପ୍ରାର୍ଥୀ ବାଦ୍ ପଡ଼ିବେ। ହାତରେ ଲେଖା ଫର୍ମ ଗ୍ରହଣ ହେବ ନାହିଁ।
ଷ୍ଟାଇପେଣ୍ଡ ଓ ଚୟନ କ’ଣ? ଗ୍ରାଜୁଏଟ୍ ଆପ୍ରେଣ୍ଟିସଙ୍କ ମାସିକ ଷ୍ଟାଇପେଣ୍ଡ ₹୧୨,୩୦୦ ଏବଂ ଟେକ୍ନିସିଆନ୍ ଆପ୍ରେଣ୍ଟିସଙ୍କ ₹୧୦,୯୦୦। ପ୍ରଥମେ ମୂଳ ଯୋଗ୍ୟତାର ଶତକଡ଼ା ଦେଖି ସର୍ଟଲିଷ୍ଟ ହୁଏ। ପରେ ଚାନ୍ଦିପୁରରେ ଲିଖିତ ପରୀକ୍ଷା/ସାକ୍ଷାତକାର। ବାସଗୃହ କିମ୍ବା ଯାତାୟାତ ମିଳିବ ନାହିଁ। ତାଲିମ ସମାପ୍ତ ହେଲେ ଡିଆରଡିଓରେ ଚାକିରି ମିଳିବ ବୋଲି କୌଣସି ପ୍ରତିଶ୍ରୁତି ନାହିଁ।
କିପରି ଆବେଦନ କରିବେ? ପ୍ରଥମେ nats.education.gov.in ରେ ନାମ ଲେଖାନ୍ତୁ। ଫର୍ମ drdo.gov.in ରୁ ଡାଉନଲୋଡ୍ କରି ଟାଇପ୍ କରନ୍ତୁ। ସ୍ପିଡ୍ ପୋଷ୍ଟ/ରେଜିଷ୍ଟର୍ଡ ପୋଷ୍ଟରେ ପଠାନ୍ତୁ: The Director, PXE, Defence R&D Organisation, PO- Chandipur, Dist- Balasore, Odisha-756025 (Kind Attn. OIC, HRDC)। ଖଣ୍ଡରେ କ୍ୟାଟେଗୋରୀ ଓ ବ୍ରାଞ୍ଚ ଲେଖନ୍ତୁ। ଅଧିକ ସୂଚନା drdo.gov.in ରେ ଅଛି।
How Are Candidates Selected?
Selection is a chain, not a single event.
- PXE’s Selection Board screens the postal applications.
- Candidates are shortlisted on the percentage of marks in the essential qualification (B.Tech or Diploma).
- Shortlisted candidates are called for a written test/interview at PXE, Chandipur.
- After the interview, selected candidates receive a joining letter by email only.
- Joining is subject to document verification, a one-year training contract under the Apprentices Act, and medical/other conditions that PXE may apply at offer stage.
The advertisement does not print the written-test syllabus, number of questions, marks, duration or negative marking. Treat any pattern you see on coaching sites as unverified until PXE emails the call letter.
No separate physical-efficiency table is given for these apprentice seats. Standard medical fitness for range/workshop work may still be checked at joining; that is not specified in this notice.
Why Does PXE Chandipur Matter?
Proof & Experimental Establishment at Chandipur, Balasore, is a DRDO laboratory under the Ministry of Defence. Its primary role is dynamic test and evaluation of armament systems on the Odisha coast. An apprentice here works inside that test-range environment for one year, not in a generic office.
Candidates search “PXE Chandipur apprentice”, “DRDO Balasore training” and “NATS DRDO Odisha” because the lab name carries defence-R&D weight on a fresh CV. The Chandipur–Balasore belt also hosts other DRDO units, so the posting is geographically specific.
The honest downside: PXE will not give accommodation or transport, and the advertisement is explicit that training does not become a DRDO job. If you need a hostel seat or a joining letter that leads to absorption, this notice does not offer either. Read more on the DRDO organisation page, defence research sector and Odisha government jobs.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
PXE Chandipur’s 50-seat NATS cycle sits next to other DRDO laboratory apprentice drives, not next to GATE-based Scientist B or RAC scientist entries. The closest comparison for a Balasore candidate is another Chandipur-area lab process such as ITR’s Technician apprentice walk-in style drives: same coast, same Act, different application door. ACEM and GTRE also run one-year NATS/NAPS seats, but those labs use their own email or walk-in windows. PXE this cycle is postal, marks-first, then a test or interview on campus.
Best fit: 2022–2026 regular B.Tech or Diploma holders in the listed branches who already have a NATS number, can live in Balasore without lab housing, and want one year of range/test-establishment exposure on a DRDO letterhead.
Who should skip: Anyone treating this as a backdoor into DRDO permanent service; PG holders; 2021 or earlier pass-outs; people with a full year of post-qualification work; and candidates who cannot guarantee the packet will reach Chandipur before 12 October 2026.
Also Read: OAVS Odisha Principal & Teacher Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 815 Posts
Practical tip: Type the form this week, book Speed Post with two to three spare days, and put the NATS enrolment number in the same digits shown on the NATS dashboard. A late bag or a mistyped enrolment number ends the file before any interview date is announced.
What Documents Are Required?
Keep originals ready for verification if shortlisted. With the postal form, the notice asks for:
- Typed application form with photograph and signature
- NATS enrolment number (written on the form)
- Aadhaar number
- Mark sheets of the essential qualification (B.Tech or Diploma)
- 10th and 12th details as required by the form
- Caste/category certificate for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD/EWS, issued by the competent authority (to be produced at document verification)
Document alert: the reservation certificate is checked at verification, not as a substitute for NATS registration. A mismatch between the branch on the envelope and the branch on the mark sheet is an easy ground for rejection.
Service Conditions
Selected candidates must execute a one-year training contract under the Apprentices Act, 1961 and the rules framed under it. PXE may raise or cut the advertised seat count. Canvassing cancels candidature. Suppression of facts can cancel the offer at any stage.
Accommodation and transport are not provided. No TA/DA is paid for the Chandipur test or for joining. The offer of apprenticeship does not confer a right to employment in PXE or DRDO.
What Happens After Selection?
- PXE emails the joining letter. You download and print it; the lab will not post a hard copy.
- Report to PXE, Chandipur on the date in that letter with originals for document verification.
- Sign the one-year apprenticeship contract required by the Act.
- Begin training in the allotted Graduate or Technician discipline at the establishment. Stipend starts as per the contract and attendance rules.
- Complete the year with the attendance and discipline conditions that apply to apprentices. There is no absorption clause in this advertisement.
- Collect experience/training documentation at exit if PXE issues it, and use the year as industrial training on your CV, not as a promised DRDO vacancy.
The notice does not state a result date or a joining month. Wait for the email; do not travel on rumour.
Contact & Helpline
- Telephone: 06782-273165 (printed on the advertisement letterhead)
- Postal address: The Director, Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE), Defence R&D Organisation, PO- Chandipur, Dist- Balasore, Odisha – 756025 (Kind Attn. OIC, HRDC)
- Updates: DRDO vacancies page
- NATS help: nats.education.gov.in
A recruitment-cell email is not printed in this advertisement. Do not use unofficial IDs circulating on social media.
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification/website. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – DRDO PXE Apprentice 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Notification PDF + application form | Download DRDO PXE Apprentice Recruitment 2026 PDF |
| DRDO vacancies/form listing | Open the DRDO official vacancies page |
| NATS registration | Register on NATS 2.0 for PXE apprentice 2026 |
| Official website | Visit the DRDO website |
FAQs – DRDO PXE Apprentice 2026
What is the last date to apply for DRDO PXE Apprentice 2026?
12 October 2026. That is the date the typed form must reach PXE, Chandipur, not the date of posting. No extension is announced as of 24 September 2026. Speed Post or Registered Post is the only route named in Advertisement No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27.
What is the age limit for PXE Chandipur apprentice seats?
Not printed. This advertisement filters by past years 2022–2026, not by a UR/OBC/SC maximum-age table. If a later call letter cites the Apprentices Act age clause, follow that letter. Do not assume a 27- or 28-year cap from other DRDO labs.
Is there an exam for PXE Graduate and Technician Apprentice, or is it interview-based?
Yes. After a percentage shortlist on the essential qualifications, PXE calls candidates for a written test/interview at Chandipur. Syllabus, marks and duration are not in this notice. Offers then go by email only.
What is the stipend for a DRDO PXE apprentice?
₹12,300 per month for Graduate (B.Tech) seats and ₹10,900 per month for Technician (Diploma) seats, for one year. This is a training stipend, not 7th CPC pay. PXE will not provide accommodation or transport during the year.
Can final-year students or result-awaited candidates apply for this PXE cycle?
No. The notice allows only candidates who passed the essential course in 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 or 2026. A result still awaited in 2026 is not the same as a stated pass year. Produce the mark sheet with the form and again at verification.
Is DRDO PXE Apprentice a permanent government job?
No. This is a one-year apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, 1961. The advertisement states that the offer does not confer any right to employment in PXE or DRDO. Treat it as industrial training with a stipend, not as Group A/B entry.
Can candidates from other states apply for PXE Chandipur apprentice seats?
Yes. No Odisha domicile bar is written in this advertisement. You still need Indian particulars on the form, a valid NATS number, the listed branch, and a 2022–2026 regular-mode pass. Training itself is only at Chandipur, Balasore.
Where will I be posted if selected for PXE apprentice training?
At the Proof & Experimental Establishment, Chandipur, District Balasore, Odisha – 756025. The written test/interview is also at that campus. The notice does not offer a choice of DRDO labs or a transfer option during the training year.
Will I get a permanent job after a DRDO laboratory apprenticeship?
No. PXE’s own terms say the training offer does not confer employment in PXE or DRDO. Some apprentices later clear separate RAC/DRDO or PSU exams; that is a new recruitment, not an automatic conversion of this seat.
Is NATS registration enough to apply for PXE Chandipur?
No. NATS is only the first gate. You must still type the PXE form and get it delivered by Speed Post or Registered Post by 12 October 2026. A NATS number without a postal form is an incomplete application.
What are the disadvantages of a PXE Chandipur apprenticeship?
Worth knowing before you apply: there is no hostel, no transport, no TA/DA, and no job claim after 12 months. Shortlisting is marks-based, so a modest percentage may never reach the Chandipur test. The year is useful exposure, not a DRDO career path.
Is a defence-lab apprenticeship worth it for Diploma holders?
Yes, if you want range/test-establishment experience and a DRDO training certificate on a one-year stipend of ₹10,900. No, if you need immediate absorption or campus housing. Civil Diploma has 10 of the 35 Technician seats, which is the widest Diploma line in this notice.
Do companies actually hire apprentices after the training year ends?
It depends on that employer’s later vacancies, not on this PXE advertisement. This notice creates no absorption roster. Use the year as documented training when you apply to later DRDO, DPSU or private defence-industry openings.
Pre-Apprenticeship Checklist – Before You Apply
Use this checklist before you apply:
- You meet the education and pass-year criteria (regular B.Tech/Diploma in a listed branch, passed 2022–2026).
- You understand this is a contractual apprenticeship for one year with no automatic permanent claim after completion.
- You are ready for hands-on training at PXE Chandipur without lab housing or transport.
- You understand the stipend (₹12,300 Graduate / ₹10,900 Technician) is payable subject to attendance and training rules.
- You are prepared to maintain attendance and discipline as per the Apprentices Act, 1961 norms.
- Your NATS enrolment number is valid and will be copied onto the typed form.
- The packet can reach Chandipur by 12 October 2026 by Speed Post or Registered Post.
📄 Source: Official notification released by PXE (DRDO) on 23 September 2026. All details are sourced from Advertisement No. PXE/HRD/AT/01/2026-27 on the DRDO official notification PDF.