
Vacancies: 3 · Posts: 1 designation · Type: Apprenticeship Training · Mode: Online (Google Form) · Fee: Not mentioned · Apply: open now–16 October 2026 · Stipend: ₹20,000/month (fixed) · Selection: Written/skill test + interview · Location: Agartala, Tripura
NIT Agartala’s Central Library is hiring fresh library science postgraduates as Library Professional Trainees for a fixed-period internship, not as regular non-teaching staff. Three training seats are on offer at the Jirania campus in Agartala, Tripura, on a fixed stipend of ₹20,000 a month.
National Institute of Technology Agartala is an Institute of National Importance under the Ministry of Education, Government of India. The notice (No. F.NITA.7(1-LIB)Estt/2023/4879-82 dated 25 September 2026) asks for First Division M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc passed in 2025 or 2026 only.
Online applications close on 16 October 2026 through the official Google Form. Candidates who passed MLISc before 2025 are told not to apply. The internship is campus-based library work, including night shifts and holiday duty on rotation.
On this page
Who Should Apply? (Quick Eligibility Check)
- M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc with First Division, passed in 2025 or 2026 from a recognised Indian university → Library Professional Trainee – 3 training seats
- Result-awaited 2026 MLISc candidates who can produce the final marksheet with First Division in the written/skill test and interview → same 3 seats
- Tech-comfortable library graduates with working knowledge of computers, library management / digital library software, and clear writing skills → same seats (skills are essential, not optional)
Who cannot apply
- Candidates who passed MLISc or an equivalent examination before 2025
- Applicants above 27 years as of 16 October 2026
- Anyone without First Division in MLISc (a Second Class marksheet will not do, even if you have strong software skills)
No Tripura domicile is required. The notice says the internship is open to eligible persons from all castes and categories.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification date | 25 September 2026 |
| Online application start | Open with the notice (exact opening hour not printed) |
| Last date to apply online | 16 October 2026 |
| Written/skill test and interview | To be notified to shortlisted candidates |
| Age cut-off date | 16 October 2026 |
No extension is mentioned in the current notice. Submit a day or two early; a late Google Form is not a valid application.
Quick Overview – NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026
- Organisation: National Institute of Technology Agartala (NIT Agartala)
- Sector: Technical Higher Education / Central Library Services
- Notification Number: F.NITA.7(1-LIB)Estt/2023/4879-82 dated 25 September 2026
- Post: Library Professional Trainee (Fixed Period Internship)
- Training seats: 3
- Job Location: Central Library, NIT Agartala, Barjala, Jirania, West Tripura – 799046
- Official Website: NIT Agartala official website
- Last Date: 16 October 2026
- Apply Online: Apply for NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 (Google Form)
- Notification PDF: Download NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 PDF
- Qualification: First Division M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc, passed in 2025 or 2026
- Age: Not exceeding 27 years as on 16 October 2026
- Stipend: ₹20,000 per month (fixed)
- Duration: 12 months from joining; may be extended by another 12 months; cannot go beyond two years
- Selection: Written/skill test, then personal interview
- Application fee: Not mentioned in the official notification
What Posts Are Available? – Vacancy & Eligibility 2026
NIT Agartala has advertised a single designation. All three seats are in the Central Library. There is no category-wise roster in the notice. The practical filter is the passing year, not the seat count: only 2025 and 2026 MLISc batches are wanted.
| Post Name | Training seats | Qualification | Stipend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Library Professional Trainee (Fixed Period Internship) | 3 | First Division M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc from a recognised Indian university; passed in 2025 or 2026 | ₹20,000/month (fixed) |
Interpretation: Three seats is a small, specialist intake. A First Division MLISc from 2024 or earlier is not usable here, even if your percentage is high. Result-awaited candidates may apply, but the final MLISc marksheet with First Division must be in hand on test/interview day.
✅ Confirmed: 3 trainee seats, ₹20,000 fixed stipend, 12+12 month cap, First Division MLISc (2025/2026), age 27 as on 16 October 2026, Google Form application link. ❓ Not specified: category-wise vacancy split, application fee, test date, syllabus, exact First Division percentage formula, and reporting venue.
Who Is Eligible? – Education, Age & Domicile
Education (mandatory): First Division in Master of Library and Information Science (M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc) from a recognised Indian university. The notice also accepts an equivalent examination, provided it was passed in 2025 or 2026.
Passing-year rule: Applicants who passed MLISc before 2025 need not apply. Result-awaited candidates may apply only if they can produce the final MLISc marksheet at the written/skill test and interview as proof of First Division.
Skills (essential): Working knowledge of computer applications and library management / digital library software, plus good writing skills.
Domicile: No state domicile is printed. Indian university MLISc holders from any state can apply.
Work pattern you must accept before applying: all library work, six-day week, rotational holiday duty, and night shift.
What Is the Age Limit? (as on 16 October 2026)
| Category | Minimum age | Maximum age as printed |
|---|---|---|
| All applicants | Not specified | Not exceeding 27 years |
The notice does not print separate relaxed maxima for OBC, SC, ST, EWS or PwBD. It only says eligible persons from all castes and categories may apply, within the 27-year cap as on the last date. Do not assume +3 or +5 years unless a later official clarification says so.
Examples: ✅ A 26-year-old candidate born on 17 October 1999 — eligible (within the 27-year limit as on 16 October 2026). ❌ A 28-year-old candidate born on 16 October 1998 — not eligible (exceeds the maximum age by 1 year).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly.
If your university issues CGPA instead of a class, convert it using the method your marksheet or the university specifies. Use our CGPA to Percentage Calculator only as an indicative check. This calculator provides an indicative estimate. Use the conversion method specified in the notification or by your university — the official formula prevails. First Division is decided by the university’s own class rules.
What Is the Library Professional Trainee Stipend in Agartala?
Selected trainees draw ₹20,000 per month (fixed). The notice does not add DA, HRA, transport allowance or annual increment to this figure.
| Component | Amount |
|---|---|
| Monthly stipend | ₹20,000 (fixed) |
| DA / HRA / TA | Not mentioned |
| In-hand (indicative) | About ₹20,000/month, subject to any statutory deductions the institute later applies |
| Annual cash | About ₹2.40 lakh if the trainee serves the full first year |
Claim + proof: ₹20,000 in hand is the printed stipend (“Rupees Twenty Thousand per month only (Fixed)”). There is no 7th CPC Level attached to this internship.
Stipend is payable subject to attendance, applicable institute rules and successful continuation of training. The notice allows up to 30 days of holidays in a year, not more than 7 days in one spell. Training can be ended at any time if the institute finds there is no seriousness about training.
Hostel with mess may be given on a payment basis, subject to availability. Do not treat hostel as a guaranteed free perk. Regular-employee housing, medical facilities and other staff benefits are expressly denied.
Given the typical stipend range, many trainees may fall below common income-tax thresholds. Actual tax liability depends on your total annual income from all sources.
What Is the Application Fee?
Not mentioned in the official notification. The Google Form is the prescribed application route. If the form later asks for a payment, follow only the institute’s written instructions. Do not pay anyone who calls or messages claiming to “confirm” a trainee seat.
How to Apply? (Step-by-Step)
Applications are accepted only online through the Google Form printed in the notice. There is no Samarth portal step and no postal application for the first stage.
- Read the NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 notification PDF on the NIT Agartala notices page.
- Confirm you have a First Division MLISc from 2025 or 2026 (or a result date that will fall before the test/interview).
- Open the official form: Apply for NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 (Google Form) (open until 16 October 2026).
- Fill in personal, academic and contact details exactly as on your certificates. Upload files if the form asks for them. Suggested (not stated in the notification): keep scans under 5 MB and use a recent passport-size photograph.
- If you need to resize a photo or signature before upload, use our Photo & Signature Resizer.
- Submit the form and save a screenshot plus the confirmation email, if Google sends one.
- Keep originals ready. Shortlisted candidates must carry a filled application form, a recent passport-size photograph, all original documents, and one set of self-attested copies to the interview.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Applying with a pre-2025 MLISc pass year. The notice says those candidates need not apply.
- Treating “result awaited” as open-ended. The final First Division marksheet must be produced on test/interview day.
- Assuming this is the same process as NIT Agartala’s Group B & C regular recruitment. That drive uses a different portal and pay level. This trainee intake uses only the Google Form above.
- Skipping night-shift and holiday-duty lines, then backing out after selection.
- Arriving for interview without originals and a filled form. Online submission alone does not replace the physical document set.
ন্যাশনাল ইনস্টিটিউট অফ টেকনোলজি আগরতলা লাইব্রেরি প্রফেশনাল ট্রেইনি নিয়োগ ২০২৬ – ৩ আসনের জন্য অনলাইন আবেদন
ন্যাশনাল ইনস্টিটিউট অফ টেকনোলজি আগরতলার সেন্ট্রাল লাইব্রেরি ৩টি লাইব্রেরি প্রফেশনাল ট্রেইনি (নির্দিষ্ট মেয়াদি ইন্টার্নশিপ) আসনের জন্য আবেদন চেয়েছে। এটি নিয়মিত সরকারি পদ নয়। মাসিক ভাতা ₹২০,০০০ নির্ধারিত। অনলাইন আবেদনের শেষ তারিখ ১৬ অক্টোবর ২০২৬। ক্যাম্পাস জিরানিয়া, পশ্চিম ত্রিপুরা।
কে আবেদন করতে পারবেন?
প্রথম শ্রেণি সহ এম.লিব.আই.এসসি / এমএলআইএসসি থাকতে হবে, এবং পাস করতে হবে ২০২৫ বা ২০২৬ সালে। ২০২৫-এর আগে পাস করা প্রার্থী আবেদন করবেন না। ফলের অপেক্ষায় থাকা প্রার্থী আবেদন করতে পারেন, তবে লিখিত/স্কিল টেস্ট ও সাক্ষাৎকারের দিন চূড়ান্ত মার্কশিট দিতে হবে। বয়স ১৬ অক্টোবর ২০২৬ তারিখে ২৭ বছরের বেশি হওয়া চলবে না। ত্রিপুরা ডোমিসাইল বাধ্যতামূলক নয়।
ভাতা ও কাজের ধরন কী?
মাসে ₹২০,০০০ নির্ধারিত ভাতা। মেয়াদ ১২ মাস, কর্মদক্ষতা ও প্রয়োজন থাকলে আরও ১২ মাস বাড়ানো যেতে পারে; দুই বছরের বেশি নয়। লাইব্রেরির সব কাজ করতে হবে। সপ্তাহে ছয় দিন, রাতের শিফট এবং ছুটির দিনে রোটেশনে ডিউটি থাকতে পারে। হোস্টেল মেশসহ পেমেন্টের ভিত্তিতে মিলতে পারে, জায়গা থাকলে। নিয়মিত কর্মীর বাড়ি বা চিকিৎসা সুবিধা এই ইন্টার্নশিপে নেই।
আবেদন ও নির্বাচন কীভাবে?
অফিসিয়াল গুগল ফর্মে আবেদন করতে হবে: forms.gle/DDeEu9VuSC2TzTqJ6। নির্বাচন লিখিত/স্কিল টেস্ট ও ব্যক্তিগত সাক্ষাৎকারে। টিএ/ডিএ নেই। বিজ্ঞপ্তি পড়ুন nita.ac.in-এ।
How Are Candidates Selected?
Selection is a two-stage process, not appointment on the form alone.
- Online application screening against passing year, First Division and age.
- Written test and/or skill test at the institute (pattern and marks not printed).
- Personal interview for those who clear the test stage.
- Document check of originals and self-attested copies on interview day.
- Offer and joining only after the institute finalises the panel.
No syllabus, paper duration or negative marking is given in the current notice. Expect questions on library classification, cataloguing, ICT in libraries, digital library tools and basic English writing, but treat that as preparation sense, not an official syllabus.
No TA/DA is paid for the test or interview. The institute may limit how many candidates it calls. Correspondence on why someone was not called will not be entertained, as per the general instructions.
Why Does NIT Agartala Central Library Matter?
NIT Agartala is a centrally funded technical institute at Barjala, Jirania, in West Tripura. The Central Library (also described on institute pages as the Knowledge Centre) supports undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral programmes across engineering and sciences.
For a fresh M.Lib.I.Sc holder, this is supervised exposure inside a working academic library: acquisition, processing, circulation, digital services and shift-based public service. That experience letter is the main career asset, not a Level-6 pay slip.
Candidates also search this page because Agartala is a defined posting, the stipend figure is printed, and the passing-year rule is unusually strict. The honest downside is simple: three seats, night shifts, no regular cadre claim, and no medical or housing privilege of regular NIT staff. Compare this path with the institute’s separate higher-education campus recruitments and other openings listed under Tripura government and campus jobs. Institute context is also summarised on the NIT Agartala organisation page.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
This notice sits in the same family as other NIT and IIT library professional trainee internships, not next to IBPS or SSC library-assistant exams. Those public exams lead to rostered Group C posts. This form leads to a 12-month training seat in one campus library. The closest tabs a serious MLISc candidate usually has open are other institute trainee circulars, not a banking SO notification.
Best fit: 2025 or 2026 First Division M.Lib.I.Sc graduates who want a named NIT on the experience certificate, can live in or near Jirania for a year, and accept shift work. Result-awaited 2026 students should apply only if the final marksheet will actually exist on test day.
Who should walk past this one: anyone treating the Google Form as a back door into NIT Agartala’s regular Library & Information Assistant cadre. The notice says selection will not create a claim on the regular establishment. Candidates who cannot do night shifts or holiday rotations should not spend the form.
Practical tip: Before you submit, write your MLISc month and year of passing on a paper and match it to 2025 or 2026. If the year is 2024 or earlier, stop. If you are result-awaited, start the marksheet follow-up with your university this week, not after a call letter arrives.
What Documents Are Required?
Carry this set if you are called (as listed in the notice):
- Filled-in application form
- Recent passport-size photograph
- All original certificates and marksheets
- One set of self-attested copies of marksheets and certificates
Also keep ready in practice (not a printed annexure list): photo ID, MLISc degree or provisional certificate, First Division proof, passing-year proof, category certificate if you wish to record category, and a copy of the submitted Google Form.
Document alert: Result-awaited applicants fail at the gate if the final MLISc marksheet is missing on test/interview day. A departmental letter saying “result expected next month” is not what the notice asks for.
What Are the Internship Terms?
- Tenure: 12 months from the date of joining.
- Extension: another 12 months only if both performance and the institute need to justify it.
- Hard cap: training tenure cannot go beyond two years.
- Leave: up to 30 days in a year, not more than 7 days in one spell.
- Termination: allowed at any time if the trainee shows no seriousness.
- Benefits: no regular housing, medical facilities or other regular-staff privileges.
- Hostel: payment basis, subject to availability.
- Certificate: an experience certificate is issued to those who complete at least six months of training (wording on the scanned page is partly unclear; keep the offer letter and ask the library office to confirm the exact qualifying period).
- Permanence: none. Appearance in the test/interview does not create a right to a regular post.
What Happens After Selection?
- The institute finalises the trainee panel after the written/skill test and interview.
- You receive joining instructions from the Central Library / Registrar’s side. Read the stipend, shift and hostel lines again before you travel.
- On joining you submit originals for verification and complete campus entry formalities.
- Training starts alongside live library work: circulation, processing, digital tools and rostered public-service shifts, including nights and holidays.
- Conduct and attendance are monitored throughout the year. Weak seriousness can end the internship early.
- If the first year goes well and the library still needs hands, a second 12-month stretch may be offered. After that the seat closes.
- Those who complete the required period collect an experience certificate and move on. There is no published absorption ladder from this internship into NIT Agartala’s regular library cadre.
Based on similar institute trainee cycles, expect a few weeks between the last date and the test call, then joining only after the panel is declared. Do not freeze other 2026 MLISc applications while you wait.
Contact & Helpline
Postal address (from the notice footer):
National Institute of Technology Agartala, Barjala, Jirania, P.O. NIT Agartala, West Tripura – 799046
Telephone: +91 381 2546630 / 6629
Fax: +91 381 2546360 (institute site); the scanned notice footer also shows a 2346360 string — use the website number if a call fails.
Website: www.nita.ac.in
Director’s office emails on the institute site: director@nita.ac.in, nita.director@gmail.com
The advertisement is copied to the Director’s PS, Chairman (Central Library), Chairman (Computing & ICT) and Deputy Librarian, Central Library. For this trainee notice, the library office / Deputy Librarian is the first practical desk after you submit the form.
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification and institute website. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over the phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Notification PDF | Download NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 PDF |
| Apply Online (open until 16 October 2026) | Apply for NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026 (Google Form) |
| Official website | Visit the NIT Agartala homepage |
| Institute notices board | Open NIT Agartala latest notices |
| Recruitment archive | Open NIT Agartala recruitment page |
FAQs – NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026
What is the last date to apply for NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee 2026?
16 October 2026. The notice does not announce an extension. Submit the official Google Form before that date and keep a screenshot. A late form is not a valid application.
What is the age limit for NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee?
Not exceeding 27 years as on 16 October 2026. The notice does not print separate OBC, SC, ST or PwBD maximum ages. All castes and categories may apply, but stay within the printed 27-year cap unless the institute issues a later clarification.
Is there an exam for this trainee intake, or is it interview-only?
Yes. Selection is a written/skill test followed by a personal interview. Marks, duration and syllabus are not printed. No TA/DA is paid for either stage. Final joining still depends on document checks.
What is the stipend of a Library Professional Trainee at NIT Agartala?
₹20,000 per month, fixed. This is a training stipend, not 7th CPC Level pay. DA and HRA are not mentioned. Hostel, if given, is on payment and subject to availability.
Can final-year or result-awaited MLISc students apply?
Yes, if they expect the result before the written/skill test and interview and can produce the final MLISc marksheet with First Division on that day. A result after the test date does not meet the notice.
Is the NIT Agartala Library Professional Trainee a permanent government job?
No. It is a fixed-period internship. The maximum tenure is two years. Selection does not create a claim on NIT Agartala’s regular establishment or on regular staff housing and medical benefits.
Can candidates from other states apply for this recruitment?
Yes. No Tripura domicile condition is printed. The academic filter is First Division MLISc from a recognised Indian university, passed in 2025 or 2026, with age not above 27 on 16 October 2026.
Where will I be posted if selected?
At the Central Library, NIT Agartala, Barjala, Jirania, West Tripura – 799046. This is a single-campus internship. Night shifts and holiday duty on rotation are part of the printed work pattern.
Will I get a permanent library job after this internship?
No automatic absorption is written in the notice. Completing the training only yields an experience certificate after the qualifying period. Regular NIT library posts, when advertised, run as a separate direct-recruitment exercise.
Is a library trainee internship in an NIT worth doing after MLISc?
It depends on your goal. For a 2025–26 First Division graduate who needs supervised academic-library experience, the NIT name and shift exposure can help the next campus or public-library application. It is a poor substitute if you only want Level-6 pay and NPS from day one.
What are the disadvantages of this library trainee seat?
The honest downside is the work-and-status mix: three seats, ₹20,000 fixed, night shifts, six-day weeks, holiday rotations, and a written bar on regular-staff privileges. If you need permanence or metro-library hours, this circular will frustrate you.
How much do library professional trainees usually earn in central institutes?
In this Agartala notice the printed figure is ₹20,000 a month fixed. Other IIT/NIT trainee circulars also use a consolidated stipend rather than a pay matrix. Always read the stipend line of that year’s PDF; do not copy last year’s number across institutes.
Do I need GATE or UGC-NET for a campus library trainee internship?
No. This NIT Agartala notice does not ask for GATE or UGC-NET. It asks for First Division MLISc (2025 or 2026), age within 27, computer and library-software skills, and clearance of the written/skill test plus interview.
Pre-Apprenticeship Checklist – Before You Apply
- You hold First Division M.Lib.I.Sc / MLISc passed in 2025 or 2026, or you can produce that marksheet on test/interview day.
- You are not over 27 years as of 16 October 2026.
- You understand this is a fixed-period internship (12 months, extendable once) with no regular post claim.
- You can work a six-day week, including night shift and holiday rotation.
- You can live with a ₹20,000 fixed stipend and a paid hostel, if allotted.
- You will submit the official Google Form by 16 October 2026 and keep the originals ready.
📄 Source: Official notification released by NIT Agartala on 25 September 2026 (No. F.NITA.7(1-LIB)Estt/2023/4879-82). Core details were confirmed from the official notice titled Advertisement for Library Professional Trainee (Fixed Period Internship) hosted at nita.ac.in.