
Vacancies: 27 · Posts: 4 trades · Type: Apprenticeship Training · Mode: Online (NAPS) · Fee: Not mentioned in the notification · Apply: 30 September 2026–18 October 2026 · Stipend: As per the Apprenticeship Act (no rupee figure printed) · Selection: Matriculation merit + document verification · Location: Mumbai / IRCTC West Zone units
Merit list based on Class 10 marks only, with no written test or viva: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone, Mumbai, has opened 27 apprentice trainee seats under the Apprentices Act. Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice is dated 30 September 2026.
IRCTC is a Government of India undertaking (Mini Ratna, as printed on this notice) in the railways and tourism services sector. Training is for 12 months. Place of posting is Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone.
Online applications open on 30 September 2026 and close on 18 October 2026 through the National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme portal at apprenticeshipindia.gov.in. Every applicant must also hold Matriculation with at least 50% marks in aggregate from a recognised Board.
⚠️ Application Alerts
- Age and qualification are reckoned as on 30 September 2026. The vacancy table header still prints “as on 18/08/25”. Treat that older date as leftover text. Do not use 18 August 2025 as your cut-off.
- You must produce your registration details from apprenticeshipindia.gov.in. A NAPS registration number is part of the application process printed in the notice.
- Name, father’s name and date of birth must match the Matriculation certificate exactly. Any mismatch at document verification cancels the candidature and can lead to debarment.
- Merit is the Matriculation percentage for every trade, including the graduate-row seats. A strong degree does not replace a weak Class 10 score.
📋 Official Source Chain
- Official notice: Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice, dated 30 September 2026 — Download the IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026-27 PDF
- Official application route: Register and apply on the NAPS portal at apprenticeshipindia.gov.in and provide that registration as part of the IRCTC process
- Official updates page: irctc.com/notice.php
- Last checked: 30 September 2026, 6:17 PM IST
On this page
Also Read: IRCTC SCZ Hospitality & Tourism Monitor Recruitment 2026 – 28 Posts at Bhubaneswar & Hyderabad
Who Should Apply?
- Matriculation + NCVT/SCVT ITI (COPA trade) → Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA) – 12 seats
- Pursuing graduation in Commerce / CA Inter / Supply Chain, or similar → Executive – Procurement (Catering Dept) – 6 seats
- Graduate in any discipline → HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management (Finance Dept) – 3 seats
- Graduate in any discipline → Marketing Operations and Analytics (Tourism Dept) – 6 seats
The notice also says applicants should have already passed, or be pursuing, the prescribed qualification against each position as of 30 September 2026. COPA still lists an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT. Because Executive – Procurement uses “or similar”, candidates outside Commerce, CA Inter or Supply Chain should obtain written confirmation from IRCTC West Zone rather than assume equivalence.
Reservation follows Government of India guidelines for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD/Ex-Servicemen and EWS. No category-wise seat split is printed.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification Release Date | 30 September 2026 |
| Online Start | 30 September 2026 |
| Last Date to Apply / Register | 18 October 2026 |
| Last Date for Fee Payment | Not mentioned in the notification |
| Correction Window | Not mentioned — check the official website after the last date |
| Admit Card / Call Letter Release | Not mentioned in the notification |
| Written exam/viva | Not held (notice: no written test or viva) |
| Document / Certificate Verification | Shortlisted candidates must be ready at short notice |
| Result / Merit List | To be notified |
Quick Overview – IRCTC Apprentice 2026
- Organisation: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC)
- Sector: Railways & Transport
- Recruitment / Exam Name: Engagement of Apprentice Trainees, IRCTC West Zone
- Notification / Advertisement No.: 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice
- Post / Trade / Exam Name(s): COPA, Executive – Procurement, HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management, Marketing Operations and Analytics
- Total seats: 27 (4 trades)
- Job Location: Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone
- Job Type / Nature: Apprenticeship Training – 12 months under the Apprentices Act
- Monthly Stipend: As per the prescribed rates under the Apprenticeship Act (no rupee figure in this notice)
- Apply / Register Between: 30 September 2026 to 18 October 2026
- Apply Online: Register on NAPS for IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026
- Notification PDF: Download IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Notification 2026 PDF
- Official Portal: https://www.irctc.com/
- Last Date: 18 October 2026
What Posts Are Available? – IRCTC Vacancy & Eligibility 2026
COPA accounts for 12 of the 27 seats. The other 15 seats are in three office-side trades under Catering, Finance and Tourism. No UR/OBC/SC/ST/EWS/PwBD split is printed. Training duration is 12 months for every row.
| Post Name | Seats | Qualification | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA) | 12 | Matriculation + ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT | 12 months |
| Executive – Procurement | 6 | Graduation pursuing in Commerce / CA Inter / Supply Chain, or similar | 12 months |
| HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management | 3 | Graduate (any discipline) | 12 months |
| Marketing Operations and Analytics | 6 | Graduate (any discipline) | 12 months |
| Total | 27 | Matriculation with 50% aggregate is required for all seats | 12 months |
Departments printed: COPA – All Dept; Executive – Procurement – Catering; HR Executive – Finance; Marketing Operations and Analytics – Tourism.
What Is the Age Limit?
Age printed in the notice: 15 years (completed) to 25 years. The operative cut-off printed in the note under the table is 30 September 2026.
| Category | Age band as printed |
|---|---|
| General / EWS | 15 (completed) to 25 years |
| OBC | +3 years (printed) |
| SC / ST | +5 years (printed) |
| PwBD | +10 years (printed) |
| Ex-Servicemen | +10 years, with the extra service-linked clause printed below |
Ex-Servicemen (as printed): upper age is relaxed up to an additional 10 years to the extent of service rendered in the Defence Forces plus 03 years, provided they have put in a minimum of 6 months’ service at a stretch, except those who have already joined Government service on the civil side after availing Ex-Servicemen status. The notice also lists engagement priority for children of deceased/disabled Ex-Servicemen, children of Ex-Servicemen, children of serving Jawans, children of serving Officers, and Ex-Servicemen themselves.
Examples: ✅ A 24-year-old UR candidate born on 01 October 2001 — eligible (within the 25-year limit as on 30 September 2026). ❌ A 26-year-old UR candidate born on 29 September 2000 — not eligible (exceeds the 25-year maximum as on 30 September 2026).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly.
What Is the Apprentice Stipend in Mumbai?
Apprentice Stipend Details
| Component | Amount / Details |
|---|---|
| Monthly Stipend | Not specified as a rupee figure in the notification. The notice says selected apprentices will be paid a monthly stipend as per the prescribed rates under the Apprenticeship Act. |
| Other Allowances / Facilities | Not mentioned in the notification |
Important Clarification:
- This is not a regular salary. It is a training stipend payable subject to attendance, applicable rules and successful continuation of training.
- No permanent employment is guaranteed after completion. The notice does not print an absorption or regularisation clause.
- Hostel, canteen or transport: not mentioned in this notification, so they are not guaranteed.
The exact monthly amount will be known from the engagement papers and the rate then in force under the Act. Do not treat aggregator figures from other railway apprentice drives as this notice’s stipend.
What Is the Application Fee?
Not mentioned in the notification. The NAPS portal may still ask for its own portal charges. Pay only on the official portal and keep the receipt.
How to Apply?
Applications run from 30 September 2026 to 18 October 2026 on NAPS.
- Read the IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026-27 notification PDF.
- Register on the NAPS portal: Apply for IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026 on apprenticeshipindia.gov.in (open until 18 October 2026).
- Search for this IRCTC West Zone engagement and submit the application against the correct trade.
- Keep scanned, self-attested copies ready: Matriculation mark sheet, ITI papers where applicable, graduation mark sheet/degree where applicable, caste/EWS/PwBD/ESM certificates, and a recent colour photograph (3.5 cm × 4.5 cm, taken not later than three months from the application date, front view, no cap or sunglasses). Use our Photo & Signature Resizer if the portal asks for a resized file.
- Produce the NAPS registration details as part of the IRCTC process.
- If shortlisted, report for document verification with originals plus 2 self-attested photocopies. No daily allowance, conveyance or travelling allowance is paid for that visit.
Suggested (not stated as a portal rule in the notice): complete NAPS registration a few days before 18 October 2026 so a portal outage does not block you.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Using 18 August 2025 as the age date. The table header still shows “as on 18/08/25”. The notice’s own cut-off note is 30 September 2026.
- Skipping NAPS registration. The notice requires you to produce the apprenticeshipindia.gov.in registration.
- Name or date-of-birth mismatch with the Class 10 certificate. That is an automatic cancellation ground.
- Assuming graduate marks will decide the graduate-row seats. Ranking is Matriculation percentage for all 27 seats.
- Asking to change trade after selection. The notice says that request will not be entertained. Withdrawal after joining is allowed only for reasons beyond the apprentice’s control.
आयआरसीटीसी मुंबई अप्रेंटिस भरती 2026 – 27 प्रशिक्षण जागांसाठी ऑनलाइन अर्ज करा
आयआरसीटीसी पश्चिम क्षेत्र, मुंबईने अप्रेंटिस कायद्यानुसार २७ प्रशिक्षण जागा जाहीर केल्या आहेत. निवड फक्त दहावीच्या गुणांवर होणार आहे. लेखी परीक्षा किंवा मुलाखत नाही. अर्ज ३० सप्टेंबर २०२६ ते १८ ऑक्टोबर २०२६ या कालावधीत apprenticeshipindia.gov.in वर करावेत.
कोण अर्ज करू शकते? सीओपीएसाठी दहावी आणि एनसीव्हीटी/एससीव्हीटी आयटीआय प्रमाणपत्र लागते. खरेदी, एचआर आणि मार्केटिंग जागांसाठी पदवी (किंवा नोटीसमध्ये लिहिल्याप्रमाणे सुरू असलेली पदवी) चालते. सर्व उमेदवारांनी मान्यताप्राप्त बोर्डातून दहावीत किमान ५० टक्के गुण घेतलेले असावेत.
वयोगट आणि स्टायपेंड काय आहे? वयोगट १५ वर्षे पूर्ण ते २५ वर्षे आहे. गणना ३० सप्टेंबर २०२६ रोजी करावी. तक्त्यात दिसणारी १८/०८/२५ ही जुनी तारीख आहे. मासिक स्टायपेंड अप्रेंटिस कायद्यानुसार मिळेल. या जाहिरातीत रुपये आकडा छापलेला नाही. ही नियमित नोकरी नाही.
अर्ज कसा करायचा? आधी एनएपीएस पोर्टलवर नोंदणी करा. नंतर आयआरसीटीसी पश्चिम क्षेत्राची जागा निवडा. कागदपत्र पडताळणीसाठी मुंबई किंवा संबंधित क्षेत्रीय कार्यालयात बोलावले जाऊ शकते. अधिकृत जाहिरात irctc.com वर आहे.
How Are Candidates Selected?
No interview stage is mentioned in the current notification. Selection is based entirely on Matriculation merit plus document verification.
- The merit list is based on the percentage of marks in the Matriculation examination. Where a grading system is used, the average of the highest and lowest marks in the scale is taken.
- Tie-break (as printed): older applicant first; if dates of birth are also the same, the applicant who passed Matriculation earlier is considered first.
- Document/certificate verification of original testimonials. Shortlisted candidates must be ready to report at short notice.
- Stand-by list: offers go to stand-by names only after absentees and rejected names from the merit list are reported. Offers are issued strictly in merit order.
There will be no written test or viva.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
IRCTC West Zone is filling 27 apprentice seats through the same NAPS route used on IRCTC’s own South Central Zone apprentice notice dated 15 June 2026 (23 seats on that circular). Both notices rank candidates on Matriculation marks and send them to document verification. This Mumbai-zone list is smaller and split across one ITI trade and three office trades.
Best fit: ITI-COPA holders with a clean Class 10 mark sheet, and graduates (or Commerce/CA Inter/Supply Chain students on the Procurement row) who can spend 12 months at a West Zone unit and treat the stipend as training support.
Who should skip: Anyone reading this as a backdoor into regular IRCTC service. The notice does not promise absorption. Candidates who cannot travel to Mumbai or a West Zone regional office for verification at short notice, and those whose Matriculation aggregate is below 50%, should not apply.
Practical tip: Calculate your exact Class 10 percentage from the original mark sheet before you submit. If your board used grades, apply the notice rule (average of the highest and lowest marks on the scale). That single figure decides the rank list.
Related: IRCTC careers · Railways & Transport jobs · Maharashtra government and PSU openings
What Documents Are Required?
Self-attested scanned copies at application, and originals plus 2 self-attested photocopies at document verification:
Also Read: FTII Pune Administrative Officer Recruitment 2026 – Apply Offline for 1 Post
- 10th standard mark sheet and, where relevant, ITI mark sheet
- Graduation degree and mark sheet for trades whose eligibility is graduation
- Proof of date of birth (Class 10 certificate/mark sheet or school leaving certificate showing DOB)
- Consolidated ITI mark sheet of all semesters of the applied trade, or Provisional National Trade Certificate showing marks
- National Trade Certificate issued by NCVT/SCVT, or Provisional NTC issued by NCVT/SCVT
- Caste certificate for SC/ST/OBC applicants
- Disability certificate for PwBD applicants
- Discharge/serving certificate for Ex-Servicemen quota
- EWS certificate if claiming EWS
- Colour photograph 3.5 cm × 4.5 cm, not older than three months from the application date, clear front view, no cap or sunglasses (keep two extra copies for verification)
Document alert: an old or unclear photograph, or a face that does not match the photo, can get the application rejected at any stage.
What Happens After Selection?
- IRCTC prepares the merit list from Matriculation marks and calls names for document verification.
- You report with originals. Failure to produce them, or any discrepancy, cancels the candidature.
- Engagement is as an apprentice trainee for 12 months in the allotted trade only. Trade change after selection is not allowed.
- Monthly stipend is paid as per the Apprenticeship Act rates then applicable, subject to attendance and continuation of training.
- The notice does not print a joining timeline, a regularisation path, or a guaranteed IRCTC job after the year ends.
You will be trained only in the trade of selection. Selected apprentices will not be allowed to withdraw except for reasons beyond their control.
Contact & Helpline
Details printed on Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice:
- Office: IRCTC West Zone Office, Ground & Third Floor, Forbes Building, Charanjeet Marg, Fort, Mumbai – 400 001
- Telephone: 022-22618062-64, 54925 (Rly.)
- Email: ggmmumbai@irctc.com
- Websites printed on the notice: www.irctc.com and www.irctctourism.com
The advertisement does not print a separate recruitment-cell timing window.
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification/website. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – IRCTC Apprentice 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Notification PDF | Download IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Notification 2026 PDF |
| Apply on NAPS | Apply for IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026 on apprenticeshipindia.gov.in (30 September 2026 to 18 October 2026) |
| IRCTC updates / notices | IRCTC official notice board |
| IRCTC website | Visit the IRCTC official website |
FAQs – IRCTC Apprentice 2026
What is the last date to apply for IRCTC West Zone Apprentice 2026?
18 October 2026. Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice sets this as the last date for online application. No extension is printed as of 30 September 2026.
What is the age limit for IRCTC apprentice seats?
15 years (completed) to 25 years, with the cut-off as of 30 September 2026. The notice prints OBC +3, SC/ST +5, PwBD +10 and Ex-Servicemen +10 years, plus the extra ESM service clause. Ignore the leftover “18/08/25” in the table header.
Is there an exam for IRCTC West Zone Apprentice, or is it interview-based?
No exam and no viva. The notice says selection is based on a matriculation percentage merit list, then document verification. Ties go to the older applicant, then to whoever passed Class 10 earlier.
What is the stipend for an IRCTC apprentice in Mumbai?
The notice does not print a monthly rupee figure. It only says the stipend will be paid at the prescribed rates under the Apprenticeship Act. Treat that as training support, not a regular salary, and confirm the amount from the engagement letter.
Can final-year students or result-awaited candidates apply for IRCTC 2026?
The notice allows applicants who have already passed, or are pursuing, the prescribed qualification as on 30 September 2026. COPA still lists an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT. Anyone waiting on an essential certificate should not assume eligibility unless that trade row matches.
Is IRCTC apprentice a permanent government job?
No. This is apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, not an employment relationship. Completion does not guarantee permanent employment or absorption. The notice itself does not use the phrase “permanent government job”.
Can candidates from other states apply for IRCTC West Zone apprenticeship?
Yes. The notice does not print a Maharashtra domicile bar. Posting is Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone, not a home-state choice.
Where will I be posted if I get selected for IRCTC West Zone apprentice?
Mumbai or its Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone, as printed. After selection, a request to change trade is not entertained.
Is ITI mandatory for every IRCTC West Zone apprentice seat?
No. ITI (NCVT/SCVT) is printed only for the 12 COPA seats. The Procurement, HR and Marketing rows are graduate / graduation-pursuing rows. Every seat still needs Matriculation with 50% aggregate.
Will I get a regular IRCTC job after this apprenticeship?
No, based on the wording of this notice. It is a 12-month training engagement. No absorption, regularisation or preference clause is printed here.
What should I know before applying?
Worth knowing before you apply: rank is decided only by Class 10 percentage, even in the graduate trades, and the year of training is not framed as a job. If your plan is a regular IRCTC post, this circular does not create that path.
Pre-Apprenticeship Checklist – Before You Apply
Use this checklist before you apply:
- You meet the age and educational criteria as on 30 September 2026 (not 18 August 2025).
- You understand this is a contractual apprenticeship with a duration of 12 months and no automatic permanent claim after completion.
- You are ready for hands-on training in COPA, Procurement, HR payroll data or Marketing operations, as allotted.
- You understand the stipend is as per the Apprenticeship Act and is not printed as a rupee figure in this notice.
- You can register on NAPS and produce that registration, and you can attend document verification at short notice without TA/DA.
📄 Primary source: IRCTC West Zone official notification PDF, Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice dated 30 September 2026. The recruitment facts above are drawn from that notification. The South Central Zone comparison in Analyst’s Take is from IRCTC’s separate official SCZ apprentice PDF dated 15 June 2026. Practical tips are labelled as such.