
Vacancies: To be notified · Posts: 4 disciplines · Type: Regular Government Service · Mode: Online · Fee: To be notified · Apply: 17 Feb–18 Mar 2027 · Salary: To be notified · Selection: GATE-2027 shortlisting + further stages · Location: All India
GATE-2027 is now the gate that matters for GAIL (India) Limited’s next Executive Trainee cycle. The Maharatna PSU under the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas has issued Advertisement No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026 dated 01 September 2026 as a pre-advertisement for Chemical, Electrical, Instrumentation and Mechanical engineers.
This notice is not the detailed vacancy advertisement. Post-wise numbers, category breakup and the exact pay package are scheduled for February 2027. What is already locked: only GATE-2027 marks count, the GAIL window runs from 17 February 2027 (11:00 AM) to 18 March 2027 (6:00 PM), and the upper age is 26 years as of 18 March 2027.
If you pass out in 2026 or sit in the 2026–27 final year, this is the cycle to plan around. GATE-2026 or earlier scores will not work. Register for the correct GATE paper first, then apply on the GAIL careers page when the February form opens.
Who Should Apply?
- B.E./B.Tech (Chemical / Petrochemical / Chemical Technology / Petrochemical Technology / Chemical Technology & Polymer Science / Chemical Technology & Plastic Technology) with 65% (60% for SC/ST/PwBD on reserved posts) + GATE-2027 paper CH → Executive Trainee (Chemical)
- B.E./B.Tech (Instrumentation / Instrumentation & Control / Electronics & Instrumentation / Electrical & Instrumentation / Electronics / Electrical & Electronics) with 65% (60% for SC/ST/PwBD on reserved posts) + GATE-2027 paper IN → Executive Trainee (Instrumentation)
- B.E./B.Tech (Electrical / Electrical, Electronics & Power / Electrical & Electronics / Electrical & Power) with 65% (60% for SC/ST/PwBD on reserved posts) + GATE-2027 paper EE → Executive Trainee (Electrical)
- B.E./B.Tech (Mechanical / Production / Production & Industrial / Manufacturing / Mechanical & Automobile) with 65% (60% for SC/ST/PwBD on reserved posts) + GATE-2027 paper ME → Executive Trainee (Mechanical)
- Five-year integrated B.E./B. Tech + M.E./M. Tech in the relevant discipline is accepted. Integrated B.E./B.Tech + MBA or B.E./B.Tech + M.Sc. is also considered if the final percentage meets the notified cut-off.
- PwBD candidates may apply where the post is identified as suitable (see eligibility note below).
Who cannot apply
- Engineering completed in 2025 or earlier
- GATE-2026 or older scores
- Branch not listed against the chosen discipline
- Part-time / distance engineering (only full-time regular UGC-recognised / AICTE-approved courses)
- Non-Indian nationals
- Second discipline application (only one post is allowed)
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Pre-advertisement date | 01 September 2026 |
| Advertisement number | GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026 |
| Detailed advertisement with vacancies | February 2027 |
| GATE-2027 examination | As notified on the GATE-2027 IIT Madras portal |
| GAIL online application opens | 17 February 2027, 11:00 AM |
| GAIL online application closes | 18 March 2027, 6:00 PM |
| Age reckoned as on | 18 March 2027 |
| Final degree / mark sheets deadline (final-year applicants) | 31 August 2027 |
No extension is announced in this pre-advertisement. Updates will appear only on the Careers section of gailonline.com.
Quick Overview – GAIL Executive Trainee 2026
⚠️ Based on advance/short notification — full vacancy, pay and selection-stage details awaited in February 2027.
- Organisation: GAIL (India) Limited (Maharatna CPSE)
- Sector: Oil, gas and energy (natural gas value chain)
- Notification Number: GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026
- Notification Date: 01 September 2026
- Post Name: Executive Trainee (Chemical, Electrical, Instrumentation, Mechanical)
- Vacancies: Not specified in this notification
- Job Location: Anywhere in India
- Official Website: GAIL careers / current openings
- Apply Portal: Careers section of gailonline.com (form from 17 February 2027)
- Last Date: 18 March 2027, 6:00 PM
- Qualification: B.E./B.Tech in listed branches + valid GATE-2027 registration
- Age Limit: 26 years as on 18 March 2027 (relaxations apply)
- Application Fee: Not specified in this notification
- Selection: GATE-2027 marks for shortlisting; later stages in detailed advertisement
- Apply Online: Apply for GAIL Executive Trainee 2026 on the official careers page (link goes live 17 February 2027)
- Notification PDF: Download GAIL Executive Trainee GATE-2027 notification from the Careers page
What Posts Are Available? – GAIL Vacancy & Eligibility 2026
Vacancy numbers and UR/EWS/OBC/SC/ST/PwBD breakup are not specified in Advertisement No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026. The four disciplines below are confirmed. Treat row counts as “open seats to be notified,” not as zeros.
The earlier GATE-2026 detailed cycle advertised 70 Executive Trainee seats (Chemical 17, Instrumentation 21, Electrical 16, Mechanical 16). That figure is not the 2027 vacancy total. Use it only as a planning benchmark.
| Post Name | Vacancies | Qualification | GATE-2027 Paper |
|---|---|---|---|
| Executive Trainee (Chemical) | To be notified | B.E./B.Tech in Chemical / Petrochemical / Chemical Technology / Petrochemical Technology / Chemical Technology & Polymer Science / Chemical Technology & Plastic Technology | CH |
| Executive Trainee (Instrumentation) | To be notified | B.E./B.Tech in Instrumentation / Instrumentation & Control / Electronics & Instrumentation / Electrical & Instrumentation / Electronics / Electrical & Electronics | IN |
| Executive Trainee (Electrical) | To be notified | B.E./B.Tech in Electrical / Electrical, Electronics & Power / Electrical & Electronics / Electrical & Power | EE |
| Executive Trainee (Mechanical) | To be notified | B.E./B.Tech in Mechanical / Production / Production & Industrial / Manufacturing / Mechanical & Automobile | ME |
Marks rule: UR / EWS / OBC (NCL) need 65% aggregate in the engineering degree. SC / ST / PwBD get 60% only against posts reserved for them. No rounding (64.99% is not 65%). Use our CGPA to Percentage Calculator if your institute issues CGPA; the official conversion certificate from the university prevails.
Passing-year rule: Eligible batches are 2026 pass-outs and 2026–27 final-year students. Final-year applicants must already hold the minimum percentage up to the last declared semester at the time of applying, and must produce the final degree (or provisional certificate) plus all mark sheets by 31 August 2027.
What Is the Age Limit?
| Category | Relaxation | Max age as on 18 March 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| UR / EWS | — | 26 years |
| OBC (NCL) | +3 years | 29 years |
| SC / ST | +5 years | 31 years |
| PwBD | +10 years | 36 years (plus category relaxation where applicable) |
SC/ST/OBC (NCL) relaxation applies only against reserved posts. Against unreserved posts they compete as general, with no age or marks relaxation. PwBD relaxation applies if the post is identified as suitable. Ex-servicemen with at least six months’ continuous Armed Forces service may deduct actual service; resultant age must not exceed the prescribed maximum by more than 3 years. After all relaxations, age shall not exceed 56 years.
Examples:
✅ A 25-year-old UR candidate born on 19 March 2001 — eligible (within the 26-year limit as on 18 March 2027).
❌ A 27-year-old UR candidate born on 18 March 2000 — not eligible (exceeds maximum age by 1 year).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly.
PwBD suitability (confirmed in this notice)
| Post | Identified categories |
|---|---|
| ET (Chemical) | B, LV; HH; OA, OL, Dw, AAV; ASD (M), SLD, MI; MD involving A–D |
| ET (Instrumentation) | D, HH; OL, CP, LC, Dw, AAV; ASD (M), SLD, MI; MD involving B–D |
| ET (Electrical) | D, HH; OL, Dw, AAV; ASD (M), SLD, MI; MD involving B–D |
| ET (Mechanical) | D, HH; OA, OL, Dw, AAV; SLD, MI; MD involving B–D |
What Is the Salary? – GAIL Executive Trainee 2026
Pay scale and CTC are not specified in this pre-advertisement. GAIL only states that it offers a competitive cost-to-company package.
✅ Confirmed: Executive Trainee cadre in four engineering disciplines; appointment subject to medical fitness as per GAIL standards.
❓ Not specified: exact grade, basic pay, DA/IDA, HRA, training stipend vs confirmed pay, PRP, bond amount.
Indicative figure from the previous detailed ET cycle (GATE-2026 advertisement, not this notice): E-2 scale ₹60,000–1,80,000 with ₹60,000 basic during one-year training-cum-probation, then absorption in the same scale on successful completion.
Rough in-hand during training on that older scale often lands around ₹80,000–1,10,000 a month after IDA, HRA or township housing, and statutory deductions. Treat this as history, not an offer letter. Recalculate when the February 2027 advertisement is out, using the PSU Pay Calculator (IDA Pattern). This calculator provides an indicative estimate. The official formula in the detailed notification prevails.
What Is the Application Fee?
Not specified in Advertisement No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026. The previous detailed ET cycle charged no application fee. Do not assume the same until the February 2027 advertisement says so.
How to Apply?
GAIL will not accept a walk-in, email or postal form. The only route is online on gailonline.com after you hold a GATE-2027 registration number.
- Register for GATE-2027 on the official GATE-2027 website in paper CH, IN, EE or ME matching your discipline.
- Appear for GATE-2027 and download the admit card so you have the registration number.
- From 17 February 2027, 11:00 AM, open the GAIL Careers page and fill the Executive Trainee form with that GATE-2027 number.
- Apply for one discipline only. A second form is discarded.
- Submit before 18 March 2027, 6:00 PM. Save the acknowledgement.
- Keep photo and signature files ready in the size the form asks for. Use the Photo & Signature Resizer if the portal rejects the upload.
The apply URL is not live on 01 September 2026. Do not invent a deep link. Bookmark Careers → Current Opening on gailonline.com.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Using GATE-2026 marks. Only GATE-2027 is valid. Last year’s score will get the form rejected.
- Applying from a 2025 or earlier pass-out batch. This cycle is closed for those years.
- Wrong GATE paper. Chemical must write CH, not ME or XE, even if the institute title looks “related.”
- Two discipline forms. The notice says multiple applications will not be considered.
- Waiting for 65% after applying as a final-year student. You already need the minimum aggregate on declared semesters, and the final papers must be in by 31 August 2027.
गेल एक्जीक्यूटिव ट्रेनी भर्ती 2026 – GATE-2027 से ऑनलाइन आवेदन
गेल (इंडिया) लिमिटेड ने विज्ञापन संख्या GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026 दिनांक 01 सितंबर 2026 से केमिकल, इलेक्ट्रिकल, इंस्ट्रूमेंटेशन और मैकेनिकल इंजीनियरों के लिए एक्जीक्यूटिव ट्रेनी भर्ती का अग्रिम नोटिस जारी किया है। चयन GATE-2027 अंकों पर आधारित होगा। पद संख्या फरवरी 2027 के विस्तृत विज्ञापन में आएगी। गेल पोर्टल 17 फरवरी 2027 सुबह 11 बजे खुलेगा और 18 मार्च 2027 शाम 6 बजे बंद होगा।
कौन आवेदन कर सकता है?
केवल 2026 में डिग्री पूरी करने वाले या 2026–27 के अंतिम वर्ष के नियमित बी.ई./बी.टेक अभ्यर्थी पात्र हैं। सामान्य/ईडब्ल्यूएस/ओबीसी (एनसीएल) के लिए 65 प्रतिशत और आरक्षित पदों पर एससी/एसटी/दिव्यांग के लिए 60 प्रतिशत अंक चाहिए। 2025 या उससे पहले पास अभ्यर्थी आवेदन नहीं कर सकते। एक अभ्यर्थी केवल एक विषय के लिए फॉर्म भर सकता है।
आयु और चयन क्या है?
18 मार्च 2027 को अधिकतम आयु 26 वर्ष है। एससी/एसटी को 5 वर्ष, ओबीसी (एनसीएल) को 3 वर्ष और दिव्यांग को 10 वर्ष छूट मिल सकती है। शॉर्टलिस्टिंग GATE-2027 अंकों से होगी। ग्रुप डिस्कशन या साक्षात्कार का ब्योरा विस्तृत विज्ञापन में आएगा। वेतनमान इस नोटिस में नहीं दिया गया है।
आवेदन कैसे करें?
पहले GATE-2027 पोर्टल पर सही पेपर में पंजीकरण करें। एडमिट कार्ड आने के बाद gailonline.com के करियर खंड पर गेल फॉर्म भरें। बिना GATE-2027 रजिस्ट्रेशन नंबर के आवेदन रद्द होगा। अपडेट केवल गेल की आधिकारिक वेबसाइट पर जारी होंगे।
How Are Candidates Selected?
Selection is a pipeline, not a single GATE printout.
- Appear in the matching GATE-2027 paper (CH / IN / EE / ME).
- Submit the GAIL online form with that registration number (17 February–18 March 2027).
- Shortlisting on GATE-2027 marks and organisational requirements.
- Further selection stages (group discussion/interview, if prescribed) will be stated in the February 2027 detailed advertisement. They are not listed here.
- Document verification against caste, EWS, PwBD and degree records.
- Pre-employment medical examination at a Central/State Government hospital (minimum District Hospital) or a GAIL-empanelled hospital. The designated CMO, GAIL, has the final say.
No interview stage is confirmed in the current pre-advertisement. Do not assume a GD-plus-interview pattern until the detailed notice says so. There is also no written exam conducted by GAIL itself in this cycle.
Why Does GAIL Matter?
GAIL (India) Limited is a Maharatna Central Public Sector Enterprise under the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas. Registered office: GAIL Bhawan, 16, Bhikaiji Cama Place, New Delhi – 110066. The company works across the natural gas value chain: transmission, processing, petrochemicals, city gas and related energy businesses.
Candidates search “GAIL Executive Trainee”, “GAIL GATE recruitment” and “GAIL ET salary” because the role is a direct officer-level entry into a core energy PSU, with all-India posting and a structured E-grade ladder after training. Interest also spikes every September when the pre-advertisement appears, months before GATE.
The honest limitation is location flexibility. First posting can be a pipeline station, process plant or remote work-centre, not only Delhi or a metro city gas office. Transfers follow organisational need. Read GAIL organisation updates and other oil and gas PSU jobs before you lock a preference.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
This pre-advertisement sits next to the same GATE-2027 PSU stack that candidates already track: IOCL, ONGC, HPCL and sometimes NRL or BCPL. GAIL is the natural-gas specialist in that set. If your paper is CH, IN, EE or ME and you want process or pipeline work rather than upstream drilling, this is the closer tab, not a generic “any PSU ET” click.
Best fit: 2026 pass-outs and 2026–27 final-year engineers who will write only one GATE paper and can live with all-India posting, including plants and pipeline bases.
Skip this cycle if you already hold a 2025 or earlier degree, you are banking on GATE-2026 marks, or your branch is Civil, Computer Science or a dual title that is not on the four lists. Those doors are closed here.
Practical tip: Treat September 2026–February 2027 as GATE prep time, not form-filling time. Get the correct paper code on the GATE form now. The GAIL window is only four weeks in February–March 2027, and a wrong paper cannot be repaired later.
Also Read: Southern Railway Act Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Apply Online for 4,471 Fresher & Ex-ITI Seats
Based on similar PSU ET drives, expect several months from the GAIL form to joining. Bookmark this page for the February vacancy table.
What Documents Are Required?
Keep these ready for the selection / DV stage (formats on careers.gail.co.in):
- GATE-2027 admit card and registration number
- Final B.E./B.Tech certificate (or provisional) and all semester mark sheets, by 31 August 2027 for final-year applicants
- CGPA-to-percentage certificate from the university, if applicable
- SC/ST certificate in the Government of India format
- OBC (NCL) certificate in the DoPT format issued in the advertisement year, plus NCL self-undertaking at selection
- EWS Income & Asset Certificate valid for FY 2026–27, based on FY 2025–26 income
- PwBD certificate (40% or more) in the MSJE format dated 15 June 2017
- Pre-employment medical report in GAIL’s prescribed format
Document alert: EWS candidates without the Income & Asset Certificate at the selection stage are not allowed to continue, and category change is not permitted. OBC creamy-layer holders should not tick NCL.
What Happens After Selection?
- Shortlist and call letter for the stages named in the February 2027 advertisement.
- Document verification of GATE, degree, caste/EWS/PwBD and photo identity.
- Pre-employment medical examination; CMO and GAIL’s decision is final.
- Offer as Executive Trainee, subject to vacancies then notified.
- Joining at the allotted work-centre anywhere in India, followed by structured training.
- Confirmation/absorption terms will follow the detailed advertisement and appointment letter. Do not treat the previous cycle’s one-year training-cum-probation as already repeated in this notice.
Service bond, notice period and NPS or CPF wording are not in the pre-advertisement. Read them in the February document before you resign from any current job.
Contact & Helpline
- Registered office: GAIL Bhawan, 16, Bhikaiji Cama Place, R.K. Puram, New Delhi – 110066
- Careers page: https://gailonline.com
- Certificate formats: https://careers.gail.co.in
- Recruitment email used on GAIL career notices: career@gail.co.in
- Phone published on earlier GAIL recruitment headers: 011-2617 2580
- Confirm both on the current Careers page before writing. Subject line should quote GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026.
- Disputes: Delhi High Court only.
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification and GAIL career pages. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over the phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – GAIL Executive Trainee 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Pre-advertisement / careers host page | Open GAIL Careers for Executive Trainee GATE-2027 notice |
| Detailed advertisement (February 2027) | Check GAIL Careers for the detailed ET vacancy PDF |
| Apply online (opens 17 February 2027) | Apply for GAIL Executive Trainee 2026 on gailonline.com |
| GATE-2027 registration | Register for GATE-2027 on the IIT Madras GATE portal |
| Certificate formats | Download SC/ST, OBC, EWS and PwBD formats from GAIL careers |
| Official website | Visit the GAIL official website careers section |
FAQs – GAIL Executive Trainee 2026
Q1: What is the last date to apply for GAIL Executive Trainee 2026?
A: 18 March 2027, 6:00 PM on the GAIL website. The form opens 17 February 2027 at 11:00 AM. No extension is announced in the 01 September 2026 pre-advertisement.
Q2: What is the age limit for GAIL Executive Trainee?
A: 26 years as on 18 March 2027 for UR. OBC (NCL) gets 3 extra years, SC/ST get 5, PwBD get 10, subject to reservation rules. After all relaxations, age cannot exceed 56 years.
Q3: Is there an exam for GAIL Executive Trainee, or is it interview-based?
A: There is no separate GAIL written exam. Shortlisting uses GATE-2027 marks only. Group discussion or interview, if any, will be named in the February 2027 detailed advertisement.
Q4: What is the salary of this post?
A: Not specified in the current notice. The previous detailed ET advertisement used E-2 pay ₹60,000–1,80,000. Treat that as history until February 2027 figures are published.
Q5: Can final-year students or result-awaited candidates apply for GAIL 2026?
A: Yes, if you are in the 2026–27 final year, already meet 65%/60% on declared semesters, and can submit the final degree and mark sheets by 31 August 2027. 2025 and earlier pass-outs cannot apply.
Q6: Is GAIL Executive Trainee a permanent government job?
A: It is a regular PSU officer entry, not a one-year contract hire. Absorption after training follows the detailed advertisement and appointment letter. It is not a central civil service post.
Q7: Can candidates from other states apply for this recruitment?
A: Yes. This is an all-India drive for Indian nationals. No state domicile is prescribed in the pre-advertisement.
Q8: Where will I be posted if I get selected for this post?
A: Anywhere in India, including plants, pipelines and city gas units. First posting is not a candidate choice in this notice.
Q9: Is GATE score required for GAIL recruitment?
A: Yes. Only GATE-2027 marks in CH, IN, EE or ME are valid. GATE-2026 or earlier scores are not accepted for this cycle.
Q10: Is GAIL a government or private company?
A: GAIL (India) Limited is a Maharatna Central Public Sector Enterprise under the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, not a private firm.
Q11: What are the disadvantages of working in an oil and gas PSU as an Executive Trainee?
A: Worth knowing before you apply: first posting can be a remote process or a pipeline location, and the vacancy count is still unknown. If you need a fixed metro seat or a confirmed 70-post table before preparing GATE, wait for February 2027.
Q12: How much do Executive Trainees earn in public sector oil companies?
A: In recent GAIL and peer PSU ET advertisements, E-2 basic has started at ₹60,000 with IDA allowances. In-hand varies by city class and township housing. Use the detailed 2027 notice, not informal CTC screenshots.
Q13: Is oil PSU Executive Trainee recruitment through GATE held every year?
A: GAIL has run ET-through-GATE cycles in recent years, but vacancy size and disciplines change. This 2026 pre-ad covers only four branches and does not guarantee an annual 70-seat repeat.
Final Checklist – Is This the Right Job for You?
- You pass out in 2026 or are in the 2026–27 final year of a listed B.E./B.Tech branch.
- You will write GATE-2027 in CH, IN, EE or ME, not an older GATE paper.
- Your aggregate meets 65% (or 60% on a reserved post) with no rounding.
- Age is within 26 years as on 18 March 2027, after only the relaxations that apply to you.
- You can serve anywhere in India after selection.
- You will apply on gailonline.com between 17 February and 18 March 2027 with the GATE-2027 registration number.
📄 Source: Official pre-advertisement released by GAIL (India) Limited on 01 September 2026 (Advertisement No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026). All details sourced from that official notification hosted on the GAIL Careers page.