
Posts: 115 | Type: Contractual | Mode: Online | Fee: Nil | Last date: 29 September 2026 | Remuneration: ₹15,000/month consolidated | Location: Tamil Nadu districts, Principal Seat (Chennai) and Puducherry
Court complexes across Tamil Nadu already run e-Sewa Kendras for e-filing, video-conference hearings and citizen queries. The High Court of Madras has now opened a fresh contractual intake for those counters: Notification No. 217/2026 dated 23 September 2026 for 115 Data Entry Operator seats under the judiciary’s e-Courts citizen-service network.
The High Court of Madras, the constitutional court for Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry, will place selected staff at the Principal Seat, district court complexes and Puducherry. Pay is a flat ₹15,000 a month. There is no application fee. Online forms on mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec close on 29 September 2026. The portal works on desktop or laptop only.
Eligible degrees are strictly listed: B.Sc (Computer Science), B.Sc (IT), BCA, B.E. (Computer Science), B.Tech, MCA, M.Sc (Computer Science), M.E. (Computer Science), M.Tech or M.Sc (IT). Age is 18–35 years as on 01 September 2026. You may choose only one district. A written-cum-skill test is tentatively set for 10 or 11 October 2026, with viva voce tentatively on 24 or 25 October 2026.
⚠️ Application Alerts
- Choose one district only. Applications for two or more districts are rejected in every district you touched.
- The portal is not mobile-compatible. Use a desktop or laptop.
- Particulars cannot be edited after final submission. Check spelling, district and degree before you lock the form.
- Photographs, certificates and date of birth must match the age cut-off of 01 September 2026. Over-age forms are rejected with no correspondence.
Official Source Chain
Recruiting authority: High Court of Madras (judiciary / e-Courts e-Sewa Kendra network)
Official notice: published as Notification No. 217/2026 dated 23 September 2026 on the High Court recruitment portal — Open the official e-Sewa Kendra recruitment page
Apply online: Apply for Madras High Court Data Entry Operator 2026 (open until 29 September 2026; desktop/laptop only)
Verify before you apply: download or read the notice on that page and match district, qualification and age against your certificates.
On this page
Also Read: DCPU Ariyalur Juvenile Justice Board Recruitment 2026 – Apply Offline for 2 Assistant Posts
Who Should Apply?
- B.Sc (Computer Science) / B.Sc (IT) / BCA holders aged 18–35 as of 01 September 2026 → Data Entry Operator, e-Sewa Kendra – 115 posts
- B.E. (Computer Science) / B.Tech holders in the same age band → Data Entry Operator, e-Sewa Kendra – 115 posts
- MCA / M.Sc (Computer Science) / M.E. (Computer Science) / M.Tech / M.Sc (IT) holders in the same age band → Data Entry Operator, e-Sewa Kendra – 115 posts
Who cannot apply (hard filters)
- Born before 02 September 1991 (over 35 as of 01 September 2026)
- Degrees outside the list above (plain BA / B.Com / B.Sc without Computer Science or IT is not listed)
- Anyone who files more than one district application
This is not a regular Madras High Court Service vacancy. Treat it as contract technical manpower at a court helpdesk, not as a Level-pay typist or computer-operator cadre post.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification No. 217/2026 | 23 September 2026 |
| Online application starts | 23 September 2026 |
| Last date to submit online application | 29 September 2026 |
| Age reckoned as on | 01 September 2026 |
| Tentative Written-cum-Skill Test | 10 October 2026 / 11 October 2026 |
| Tentative Viva Voce | 24 October 2026 / 25 October 2026 |
No individual call letter by post is promised. Watch mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec and the concerned District Court website.
Quick Overview – Madras High Court DEO 2026
- Organisation: High Court of Madras
- Sector: Judiciary / e-Courts citizen services
- Notification Number: 217/2026 dated 23 September 2026
- Post: Data Entry Operator (e-Sewa Kendra, contract staff)
- Vacancies: 115
- Job Location: Principal Seat of Madras High Court, 36 Tamil Nadu districts, and Puducherry
- Official Website: Madras High Court e-Sewa recruitment portal
- Last Date: 29 September 2026
- Apply Online: Apply for Madras High Court Data Entry Operator 2026
- Notification: Read the official Madras High Court e-Sewa Kendra notice
- Pay: ₹15,000 per month, consolidated
- Fee: Nil
- Selection: Written test + skill test + viva voce + document verification
- Job type: Contractual; no claim of permanency
What Posts Are Available?
All 115 seats are the same designation: Data Entry Operator at an e-Sewa Kendra. What changes is the district. Chennai unit has the most seats (11). Principal Seat has only 2. Several districts have a single seat. Pick the court complex you can actually report to every day, including odd hours and holidays if required.
There is no inter-district transfer after joining.
| S.No. | District / Unit | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Principal Seat of Madras High Court | 2 |
| 2 | Ariyalur | 1 |
| 3 | Chengalpattu | 3 |
| 4 | Chennai | 11 |
| 5 | Coimbatore | 4 |
| 6 | Cuddalore | 2 |
| 7 | Dharmapuri | 2 |
| 8 | Dindigul | 4 |
| 9 | Erode | 2 |
| 10 | Kallakurichi | 4 |
| 11 | Kancheepuram | 3 |
| 12 | Kanniyakumari | 5 |
| 13 | Karur | 1 |
| 14 | Madurai | 5 |
| 15 | Mayiladuthurai | 1 |
| 16 | Nagapattinam | 2 |
| 17 | Namakkal | 1 |
| 18 | Nilgiris | 1 |
| 19 | Perambalur | 2 |
| 20 | Pudukkottai | 1 |
| 21 | Ramanathapuram | 1 |
| 22 | Salem | 4 |
| 23 | Sivagangai | 1 |
| 24 | Tenkasi | 2 |
| 25 | Thanjavur | 3 |
| 26 | Theni | 2 |
| 27 | Thoothukudi | 6 |
| 28 | Tiruchirappalli | 5 |
| 29 | Tirunelveli | 5 |
| 30 | Tirupathur | 1 |
| 31 | Tiruppur | 2 |
| 32 | Tiruvallur | 6 |
| 33 | Tiruvannamalai | 4 |
| 34 | Tiruvarur | 4 |
| 35 | Vellore | 3 |
| 36 | Villupuram | 2 |
| 37 | Virudhunagar | 1 |
| 38 | Puducherry | 6 |
| Total | 115 |
Qualification and pay are the same for every row: listed CS/IT degrees; ₹15,000 consolidated.
Day-to-day work, as described in the notice, is helpdesk and court-tech support: public inquiries, video-conference hearings, online applications, e-filing, e-stamp purchases, Aadhaar-linked digital signatures, the eCourts App, legal-services counters and traffic-challan assistance.
Eligibility – Education, Age & Domicile
Education (mandatory list): B.Sc (Computer Science) / B.Sc (IT) / BCA / B.E. (Computer Science) / B.Tech / MCA / M.Sc (Computer Science) / M.E. (Computer Science) / M.Tech / M.Sc (IT).
Confirmed: the degree names above, age 18–35 as on 01 September 2026, one-district application rule.
Not specified in this notice: minimum percentage or CGPA, Tamil-language paper as an eligibility test, Tamil Nadu domicile as a hard filter, experience as a must-have, category-wise vacancy roster.
What Is the Age Limit?
| Category | Minimum | Maximum as on 01 September 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| All candidates named in the notice | 18 years | 35 years (must not have been born before 02 September 1991) |
The notice does not print separate extended ages for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD/Ex-Servicemen. Do not assume a standard +3 or +5 unless a later official clarification says so. Over-age applicants are summarily rejected.
Examples:
✅ A 34-year-old candidate born on 01 September 1992 — eligible (within the 35-year limit as on 01 September 2026).
❌ A 36-year-old candidate born on 01 September 1990 — not eligible (exceeds the maximum age by 1 year; born before 02 September 1991).
Use our Age Eligibility Calculator to check instantly.
What Is the Data Entry Operator Remuneration in Tamil Nadu?
Selected staff draw ₹15,000 per month consolidated. That is the figure printed in Notification No. 217/2026. It is not a 7th CPC Level scale, so DA, HRA and annual increment are not specified as add-ons.
| Component | Amount |
|---|---|
| Consolidated monthly pay | ₹15,000 |
| DA / HRA / TA as separate heads | Not specified in this notice |
| Illustrative annual figure if paid for 12 months | ₹1,80,000 |
| NPS / pension | Not specified (contract staff) |
Illustrative take-home: expect about ₹15,000 before any TDS your disbursing office may deduct. Given this range, many workers may fall below income-tax thresholds. Actual tax depends on your total annual income from all sources. Estimate with the Income Tax Calculator. This calculator provides an indicative estimate. The official formula in the appointment order prevails.
Leave printed in the notice: 12 days of casual leave a year. Sandwich leave is not allowed. Excess absence is deducted from pay. No TA/DA for the test or for extra e-Sewa duty.
What Is the Application Fee?
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| All applicants | Nil |
No payment portal applies. A zero-fee form is still rejected if you break the one-district rule or miss eligibility.
How to Apply?
Applications are accepted only online on the High Court e-Sewa portal from 23 September 2026 to 29 September 2026.
- Open the Madras High Court DEO apply online link on a desktop or laptop.
- Read Notification No. 217/2026 on that page before you create the form.
- Register with a working mobile number and email that you will still use in October.
- Select one district / Principal Seat / Puducherry unit.
- Fill personal, qualification and communication fields exactly as on certificates.
- Upload photo and signature in the size the form asks. Use the Photo & Signature Resizer if the portal rejects the file.
- Preview every field. Submit. Save or print the acknowledgement. No edits after submission.
If the direct path fails in your browser, open mhc.tn.gov.in → look for the e-Sewa / esk_rec recruitment tile → apply.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Filing two districts “to be safe.” The notice says the application is rejected in all districts.
- Using a phone browser. The High Court has flagged the form as not mobile-compatible.
- Treating “any graduate” as enough. BA, B.Com or a non-listed B.Sc is outside the printed degree list.
- Waiting until the evening of 29 September. The window opened on 23 September 2026 and closes in the same month. Portal load is a real risk.
- Assuming this becomes a regular High Court post. The notice states the engagement is purely contractual, terminable without assigning reason, and no permanency can be claimed.
சென்னை உயர் நீதிமன்றம் தமிழ்நாடு டேட்டா என்ட்ரி ஆபரேட்டர் ஆட்சேர்ப்பு 2026 – 115 பதவிகளுக்கு ஆன்லைன் விண்ணப்பம்
சென்னை உயர் நீதிமன்றம் அறிவிக்கை எண் 217/2026 மூலம் e-சேவா கேந்திரங்களில் 115 தரவு உள்ளீட்டு ஆபரேட்டர் ஒப்பந்தப் பணியிடங்களை நிரப்புகிறது. விண்ணப்பம் 23 செப்டம்பர் 2026 முதல் 29 செப்டம்பர் 2026 வரை mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec தளத்தில் மட்டுமே. கட்டணம் இல்லை. மாத ஊதியம் ₹15,000 ஒருங்கிணைந்த ஊதியம்.
யார் விண்ணப்பிக்கலாம்?
வயது 01 செப்டம்பர் 2026 அன்று 18 முதல் 35. 02 செப்டம்பர் 1991-க்கு முன் பிறந்தவர்கள் தகுதி இல்லை. தகுதிப் பட்டியல்: B.Sc (Computer Science) / B.Sc (IT) / BCA / B.E. (Computer Science) / B.Tech / MCA / M.Sc (Computer Science) / M.E. (Computer Science) / M.Tech / M.Sc (IT). ஒரு மாவட்டத்திற்கு மட்டும் விண்ணப்பிக்க வேண்டும். இரண்டு மாவட்டங்களில் போட்டால் அனைத்து விண்ணப்பங்களும் நிராகரிக்கப்படும்.
தேர்வும் பணியிடமும் எப்படி?
எழுத்துத் தேர்வு 25 மதிப்பெண், திறன் தேர்வு 25 மதிப்பெண், வாய்மொழித் தேர்வு 50 மதிப்பெண். தற்காலிக எழுத்து-திறன் தேர்வு 10 அல்லது 11 அக்டோபர் 2026. வாய்மொழி 24 அல்லது 25 அக்டோபர் 2026. சென்னையில் 11 இடங்கள்; பிரதான இருக்கையில் 2; புதுச்சேரியில் 6. பிற மாவட்டங்களில் 1 முதல் 6 இடங்கள். பணி மாவட்டங்களுக்கு இடையே மாற்றம் இல்லை.
எப்படி விண்ணப்பிப்பது?
மொபைல் போனில் படிவம் இயங்காது. கணினி அல்லது மடிக்கணினியில் மட்டும் நிரப்பவும். சமர்ப்பித்த பிறகு திருத்தம் இல்லை. தேர்வு தேதி தனிப்பட்ட தபால் மூலம் வரும் என்று எதிர்பார்க்க வேண்டாம். அதிகாரப்பூர்வ தளம் மற்றும் சம்பந்தப்பட்ட மாவட்ட நீதிமன்ற இணையதளத்தை பார்க்கவும். முழு விவரம் mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec இல் உள்ளது.
How Are Data Entry Operators Selected?
Selection is a chain of stages, not a single mark.
- Written test — 25 objective questions, 25 marks, minimum 10 to qualify. Duration for the written-cum-skill sitting is 60 minutes.
- Skill test — 25 marks, minimum 10. Tasks named in the notice: scan-to-OCR, PDF-to-OCR, LibreOffice, LAN / IP configuration, hardware troubleshooting and driver installation.
- Shortlist for viva — 1:3 ratio from those who cleared written-cum-skill, by merit. Tied cut-off marks: all such candidates are called.
- Viva voce — 50 marks, minimum 20. Panel looks at alertness, skill, attitude, ethics, character and computer/network/database / OS exposure.
- Document verification — originals checked before a name is treated as finally selected.
- Merit list — written-cum-skill total plus viva. Tie-break printed in the notice: older candidate placed above.
No interview-only shortcut is described. There is also no statement that a separate personality interview exists beyond this viva.
Written syllabus (as listed)
| Area | What is tested |
|---|---|
| Windows and Linux basics | OS concepts, files, users, permissions, install/update, basic commands |
| Networking | LAN/WAN/Wi-Fi, IP, DNS, DHCP, switches/routers/firewalls, cables, basic commands, security |
| PDF and documents | Office/Excel basics, PDF create/merge/split, digital signatures, file naming and security |
| Video conferencing | Mic/speaker/camera, WebEx / Microsoft Teams, hard and soft VC faults |
| Hardware | CPU, RAM, HDD/SSD, motherboard, printer/scanner, backup, preventive care |
| Internet | Browsers, URL/DNS, email, Wi-Fi, cloud basics, phishing/malware/passwords |
Why Does Madras High Court Matter?
The High Court of Madras is the constitutional High Court for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, with its Principal Seat in Chennai and a Bench at Madurai. e-Sewa Kendras sit within that judiciary network so that a litigant can e-file, join a video hearing, or get a simple status query without wandering the complex.
Candidates search “Madras High Court recruitment”, “e-Sewa Kendra DEO” and “Chennai court data entry jobs” because a High Court badge still carries weight on a résumé, even on contract. District postings also mean work near home for many CS/IT graduates who do not want a metro-only PSU grind.
The honest limit is the contract itself. This is citizen-facing shift work at a helpdesk, not a gazetted career track in the Madras High Court Service. Pay is fixed. Transfers between districts are barred. The notice allows termination without assigning a reason. If you need NPS, increment and a service book, look at regular court or SSC DEO notifications instead. More organisation context: High Court of Madras and Tamil Nadu government jobs.
The SahisarkariJobs.in Analyst’s Take
This drive sits next to two very different tabs a CS graduate in Tamil Nadu usually has open: regular High Court / district-court clerical and computer-operator notifications (Level pay, roster, longer calendar) and SSC CHSL Data Entry Operator, which is a central exam with a typing-heavy skill test and all-India posting. Notification 217/2026 is faster and local, but it buys speed by dropping permanency and by paying a flat ₹15,000.
Best fit: a BCA / B.Sc (CS or IT) candidate who lives in the district they will click, can handle LibreOffice, OCR and a LAN fault on the same afternoon, and wants court-complex exposure without waiting a year for a Level-4 paper.
Better to pass if: you need a pensionable post, you cannot work odd hours or holidays, or you planned to treat “B.Tech any branch” as a backdoor when your degree is outside the printed list. Also skip it if you will only join Chennai, but your rank lands you in a one-seat district you never intended to live in.
Practical tip: Practise the five named skill tasks on a Linux-friendly machine this week (scan-to-OCR, PDF-to-OCR, LibreOffice, IP config, driver install). Viva is 50 of 100 marks, but you never reach it unless the skill paper is cleared at 10/25.
What Documents Are Required for Tamil Nadu Court Jobs?
The notice does not print a full annexure-style document list in the material reviewed. Produce originals at verification. Keep this working set ready:
- SSLC / birth certificate for date of birth
- Degree certificate and marksheets for the exact listed qualification
- Government photo ID (Aadhaar / voter ID/passport/driving licence)
- Recent photograph matching the upload
- Online application acknowledgement
- Community / PwBD / Ex-Servicemen papers only if you claim them and the later call letter asks
Document alert: name and date of birth must match across SSLC, degree and Aadhaar. A last-minute gazette name change with no supporting pages is a common DV stall. Serving government staff should have an NOC ready if asked at verification. The notice does not say NOC must be uploaded with the online form.
Service Conditions
- Appointment is purely contractual. The notice says no permanency can be claimed.
- Engagement may be ended at any time without assigning a reason.
- No transfer from the allotted district.
- Attendance on holidays and outside usual hours can be required.
- 12 days of casual leave a year; no sandwich leave; extra absence costs pay.
- No TA/DA for tests or extra Kendra duty.
- Canvassing or unfair means leads to disqualification.
- Beware of touts. The High Court does not charge a fee for this form.
What Happens After Selection?
- Merit is drawn from written-cum-skill marks plus viva, after the 1:3 shortlist and minimum qualifying marks.
- Original certificates are checked. A mismatch at this stage drops the name even if marks were high.
- The offer, when issued, will name the district / Principal Seat / Puducherry unit you applied for. There is no shopping between units.
- You report to the Principal District Judge (or the Principal Seat authority) on the joining date given in the order.
- Day-to-day posting is at the e-Sewa Kendra: counters, VC rooms, e-filing and citizen queries.
- Continuance depends on the contract and conduct. The notice does not print an automatic regularisation path or a fixed multi-year tenure.
Joining timeline after 29 September 2026 is not printed beyond the tentative October test dates. Plan documents now; do not wait for a postal call letter.
Contact & Helpline
Recruitment-specific phone and email are not printed in the notice extracts available for this article. Use the official portal and the District Court site of the unit you applied for.
- Portal: https://www.mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec
- Parent site: https://www.mhc.tn.gov.in
⚠️ Contact details sourced from the official notification/website. Verify before contacting. NEVER pay any money over the phone or to any person claiming to offer job assistance. Report fraud to cybercrime.gov.in.
Important Links – Madras High Court DEO 2026
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Apply online (desktop/laptop) | Apply for Madras High Court Data Entry Operator 2026 |
| Official notice/recruitment page | Read the Madras High Court e-Sewa Kendra 2026 notice |
| Official website | Visit the High Court of Madras recruitment portal |
| Parent High Court site | Open the High Court of Madras homepage |
FAQs – Madras High Court DEO 2026
What is the last date to apply for Madras High Court DEO 2026?
29 September 2026. Forms are online only on mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec. No extension is announced as of 23 September 2026. Late or mobile-only attempts are a common way to miss this window.
What is the age limit for Madras High Court Data Entry Operator?
18 to 35 years as of 01 September 2026. You must not have been born before 02 September 1991. The notice does not print extra years for reserved categories. Over-age forms are rejected without correspondence.
Is there an exam for Madras High Court DEO, or is it interview-based?
Yes. There is a written paper (25 marks) and a computer skills test (25 marks), then a 50-mark viva for a 1:3 shortlist. Final rank uses both stages. Document verification follows. There is no “marks-only appointment.”
What is the salary of a Madras High Court Data Entry Operator?
₹15,000 per month consolidated, as printed in Notification No. 217/2026. Separate DA or HRA is not specified. Treat take-home as about that figure before any TDS. It is contract pay, not a Level matrix.
Can final-year students or result-awaited candidates apply?
The notice does not say final-year students may apply. Safer reading: hold the listed degree when you apply and produce the certificate at verification. If your result is still pending, wait for written clarification on the portal.
Is Madras High Court DEO a permanent government job?
No. The notice calls it contract staff, says no permanency can be claimed, and allows termination without assigning a reason. Do not confuse it with regular Madras High Court Service typist or computer-operator posts.
Can candidates from other states apply for this recruitment?
The printed filters are age and the listed CS/IT degrees, not a domicile clause. Work is in Tamil Nadu court complexes and Puducherry. You still pick one unit and cannot transfer later. Confirm any later instructions on the official page.
Where will I be posted if selected?
Only in the district or Principal Seat you applied for. Chennai has 11 seats, Tiruvallur and Thoothukudi 6 each, Puducherry 6, Principal Seat 2. Several districts have one seat. No inter-district transfer is allowed.
Can I apply for more than one district?
No. One district only. Two or more applications mean summary rejection in every district you chose. Pick the court you can actually attend, including holiday duty if asked.
Is the application portal open on mobile phones?
No. The High Court states the form is for desktop or laptop only. Phone browsers are a frequent failure point. Finish the form on a computer and save the acknowledgement PDF.
What are the disadvantages of this e-Sewa DEO post?
The honest downside is the contract: ₹15,000 locked pay, no printed regularisation, possible odd-hour duty, and termination without reason. You also cannot move districts if family plans change after joining.
Do High Court data entry jobs in Tamil Nadu include a typing test?
This notice tests written IT knowledge plus hands-on OCR, LibreOffice, LAN and hardware tasks, then a viva. A separate English/Tamil typewriting paper is not listed here. That differs from many regular court typist notifications.
Is a court DEO job worth it compared with SSC CHSL DEO?
It depends on what you want. This is a short, local, fee-free High Court contract with an October test calendar. SSC CHSL DEO is a longer national exam with different pay rules and postings all over India. Do not treat them as the same job. Final Checklist – Is This the Right Job for You?
- You meet the age and listed CS/IT degree rules as of 01 September 2026.
- You accept a contractual e-Sewa Kendra role with no printed permanency.
- You will apply for one district only on a desktop or laptop by 29 September 2026.
- You can face the skill test plus a 50-mark viva (the hardest gate after the MCQ paper).
- You will serve only at the allotted e-Sewa Kendra, including odd hours if required.
📄 Source: Official notification released by the High Court of Madras on 23 September 2026 (Notification No. 217/2026). Details above follow the official e-Sewa Kendra recruitment page at mhc.tn.gov.in/esk_rec